As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Origin of CD Keys

VaMageVaMage Registered User regular
edited September 2008 in Games and Technology
I know this has been hashed over to death but I'm still going to put my 2 cents in.

I've been gaming with PC's since 1982, and on other computer platforms before that, Star Trek on an HP 3000 comes to mind, playing with vectors was a blast, I also played MUD's on Compuserve, Geni, and Delphi. So, I can honestly say I've been a gamer for a while now.

I used to buy a lot of games, my daughter's friends say my office has more games on bookshelves then Game Stop, actually that's not hard to do now as all they have is a small rack in the back of the store. My home office has bookcases on 3 walls, most of those shelves are software, a lot of that is games, all the way back to Infocom's Zork and MS Flight Simulator 1.0, the one with the green cover that I used to use to test PC's for compatibility, because if it could run FS it would run anything.

I rarely buy games now.

What changed?

There once was a time I could go to EB and buy as many as 3 or 4 titles, if 2 or 3 of them sucked I would take them back, the ones that didn't, I kept.

The EULA's only give me, as a consumer, a warranty on the CD or DVD. I could literally create VaMages Pet Rock Software, sell it for $50 bucks a pop and have not one byte of data on the disk I would have to include, as long as the disk itself would spin up.

Then they added the no return policy. This was a license to steal granted to the GAME COMPANIES! And over the years they have used it to death. How many games can you name that you have bought that outright suck, don't work, never did work, can't work, and that you know you got ripped off for?