As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

The myth of the credit crunch and the truth of the bailout

TokyoRaverTokyoRaver Registered User regular
edited September 2008 in Debate and/or Discourse
OK, so you're thinking "What the fuck TokyoRaver, you work in the financial sector, why are you calling the credit crunch a myth?"

Well, that's exactly why: I work in the financial sector. Maybe I shouldn't air a couple dirty little secrets there are, but fuck it, here I go:

You can still get consumer credit.

But this isn't what you've heard! You've heard the banks are too scared to lend! Nah, bullshit. Here's the drill:

We're lending at traditional credit standards. We're looking at loans and approving them when they have debt-to-income ratios of 45% or below (as in, if you are spending less than 45% of your gross monthly income on your obligations, we are giving you money.)

It used to be, in the bad old days, that banks wouldn't lend you money if your DTI was over 35%. If anything, we should be lucky to have 45%! (raps cane on table)

No, seriously.

Hell, on some products (conforming loans, loans under 417,000, which makes up a majority of the market) we can even get loans with good compensating factors approved with up to a 60% DTI. Keep in mind this is GROSS monthly income, pre-tax.

Credit? Got above a 580 FICO score? Oh, good. I can give you up to $729,750 as long as your debt to income is below 45%.

(realistically, if you have below that score, you shouldn't be able to borrow money.)

Oh, and did I mention that interest rates are hovering near historical lows? 6%! That's affordable for a mortgage!

So where's the big problem?

OK, this is what I think.