As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Program to view screen with friends?

DerpanDerpan Registered User regular
edited October 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
A friend of mine wont play Deus ex, but wants to watch me play, is there a program out there that can send my desktop realtime to him so he can watch me play?

Derpan on

Posts

  • Options
    LPDustinLPDustin Registered User regular
    edited October 2008
    RealVNC or remote assistance

    LPDustin on
  • Options
    PeregrineFalconPeregrineFalcon Registered User regular
    edited October 2008
    Strange request, but okay ... if he wants to watch live, check StreamMyGame - the free trial account in combination with Hamachi to create a virtual LAN between the two of you should let you set up a 640x480 game stream in "view only" mode, and then he can tune in to watch.

    PeregrineFalcon on
    Looking for a DX:HR OnLive code for my kid brother.
    Can trade TF2 items or whatever else you're interested in. PM me.
  • Options
    DerpanDerpan Registered User regular
    edited October 2008
    I suppose I should of mentioned that I was after HIGH frame rates and good quality as well. I basically just skype with him, and would prefer to have his screen filled with the game, in decent quality, as close to actually playing it as possible.

    We tried a random webcam screen capture utility, but it was choppy as fuck.

    Derpan on
  • Options
    RaereRaere Registered User regular
    edited October 2008
    Derpan wrote: »
    I suppose I should of mentioned that I was after HIGH frame rates and good quality as well. I basically just skype with him, and would prefer to have his screen filled with the game, in decent quality, as close to actually playing it as possible.

    We tried a random webcam screen capture utility, but it was choppy as fuck.

    Not going to happen. Even with the most powerful computer, you're not going to get playable rates at that quality. With StreamMyGame, you might be able to get 15-30fps at 640x480 if you both have a decent internet connection.

    Raere on
    Raere.png
  • Options
    AtomBombAtomBomb Registered User regular
    edited October 2008
    That's a pretty tough request. You're wanting to push a ton of data. When using VNC I'll get lag/choppiness when I'm viewing computers over 100mb/s that are in the same building as me if the video is moving fast enough.

    AtomBomb on
    I just got a 3DS XL. Add me! 2879-0925-7162
  • Options
    DerpanDerpan Registered User regular
    edited October 2008
    If I use skype and the webcam on my laptop, pointed at the screen, I get about 60fps, I just dont see why it is so improbable

    Derpan on
  • Options
    AtomBombAtomBomb Registered User regular
    edited October 2008
    The webcam is sending less data. It's probably only 320x240, or maybe 640x480 if it's a nicer one. Even if your screen is only set at 1024x768 it's 10x more data.

    AtomBomb on
    I just got a 3DS XL. Add me! 2879-0925-7162
  • Options
    TychoCelchuuuTychoCelchuuu PIGEON Registered User regular
    edited October 2008
    Use XFire's live broadcast thing.

    TychoCelchuuu on
  • Options
    CorakCorak Registered User regular
    edited October 2008
    Not to derail, but a related question, how does one go about getting two monitors that are actually hooked up to the same computer to display the same thing (for example so one could run your computer, and have another identical monitor facing outward). Just plug them both into your video card?

    Corak on
    I live!
  • Options
    saggiosaggio Registered User regular
    edited October 2008
    Corak wrote: »
    Not to derail, but a related question, how does one go about getting two monitors that are actually hooked up to the same computer to display the same thing (for example so one could run your computer, and have another identical monitor facing outward). Just plug them both into your video card?

    Yep.

    saggio on
    3DS: 0232-9436-6893
  • Options
    DeShadowCDeShadowC Registered User regular
    edited October 2008
    Corak wrote: »
    Not to derail, but a related question, how does one go about getting two monitors that are actually hooked up to the same computer to display the same thing (for example so one could run your computer, and have another identical monitor facing outward). Just plug them both into your video card?

    Yep and then change the settings in your display profile. Or use the nvidia/avi program to set it up.

    DeShadowC on
Sign In or Register to comment.