As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

An idea for contract work. Help me make a proposal!

HorizonXPHorizonXP Registered User regular
edited November 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
Hey guys,

So I graduated from electrical engineering. I guess with the economy the way it is, I've run into difficulty finding a full-time gig, so I've picked up a part-time job at my local hospital. It's a new hospital, so they just recently started installing IPTVs in each room. Each one is a Siemens-built medical LCD touchscreen, with a keyboard, so patients can watch TV, access Internet, or listen to the radio. To access any of the services, there is a fee structure, which is what my company handles.

My job is to go room to room, ask patients if would like to activate the service. I walk around with a set of 10 pages, which is a printout of an Excel spreadsheet that lists every room in the hospital that has our TVs installed. I can check off any of the following boxes:
Basic, Premium, Kids, Internet, Empty

I check off whichever services they have. If the bed's empty, I check that box off. If they don't want services, I write NO. If there are any issues, like a broken TV or such, I write a note in a little box provided. I fill these pages out everyday. It gets to be very tedious.

Now, as an engineer, I saw several issues here. One, there's no way to see old data. That is, it's completely blank when I get the print out in the morning. I think it would be nice to have that old data there, so that I know who has what services, so I can serve them better when I go to see them again to check if everything's ok.