As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

The hell of other peoples programms

SorcySorcy Registered User regular
edited November 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
Okay, so I work as a freelance web programmer (PHP, Javascript, HTML, Actionscript (Flash) and a dabbling bit of Java), which worked fine for me so far - now I have a contract with one of my most valued customers coming up. His main programmer got a baby, so he wants to only come in three days the week and I am supposed to fill out the other two days (boss likes to have someone around because of the whole "I need to see someone typing so I know there is programming being done" thing).

Problem is: I've worked with this guy before and our coding styles are like ... I don't know, two very different things that don't go well together AT ALL. But I am charged with coming up with a solution for this. So here what I have thought about so far:
  • Stringent documentation of all Classes and Scripts (so far he documents rarely or never, and when he documents his code it is often the most useless comments ever)
  • Stringent programming (have a standard for variable names, have clear names for methods
  • Have a Subversion Server, so that any code changes will be documented, we both can work on classes without getting in each others way
  • Have a global Todo List, so that we both know what has been done and what still has to be done.

So, for Documentation I thought about the JavaDoc Standard, as it is easily usable in both PHP and Actionscript. But how do I get him to actually comment his stuff without having to threaten his life?