Options

Car AC converter or alt portable power (iMac)

VirumVirum Registered User regular
edited November 2006 in Help / Advice Forum
I need a DC->AC power adapter for my car's cigarrette lighter thing that'll be strong enough to power up an intel iMac.

Yes, and iMac. Not an iBook. An iMac. Not a typo.

My friend had one, but the light on it merely blinked when I tried to power up the iMac. The screen of the computer didn't even turn on. I'm guessing it didn't have enough wattage supply/output/something. I'm not an electrician.

So which one do I need to buy?

Virum on

• Options
    DrFrylockDrFrylock Registered User regular
    edited November 2006
    Something like this? But of course heed the caveats about the maximum power draw from the cigarette lighter socket. You may need a bigger fuse, or it may not be possible at all...

DrFrylock on
  • Options
    edited November 2006
    That looks pretty close to what I want.

However, I'm open to other suggestions for portable power. Basically, it needs to last a few hours, rechargeable is a must if it's a separate thing.

All that'll be hooked to it is the iMac. (My video camera has to be hooked to an imac to capture HD video).

In fact, what might be best is a separate, preferably small, power source.

Virum on
  • Options
    vonPoonBurGervonPoonBurGer Registered User regular
    edited November 2006
    How about a UPS or similar backup power system? They're meant to run computers or appliances anyway, so you know they can handle the draw. My only questions would be how long the battery would last, and can you disable the audible "no main power" alarm so you don't lose your sanity during this project. :wink: It would be a fairly expensive solution, though, unless someone had a UPS they could loan you.

vonPoonBurGer on
    Xbox Live:vonPoon | PSN: vonPoon | Steam: vonPoonBurGer
  • Options
    edited November 2006