As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Electric/Gas Bill way high

JoeslopJoeslop Registered User regular
edited December 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
So it's December, which means it is usually cold. I've been running the heater at 70 degrees, which isn't very high. My bill last month for utilities was around $110.

I just got the bill for the last 30 days and it's $210. The gas usage is over 4 times what it was on the previous bill! Is something fishy going on or is this typical?

It should be noted that this is the first place I've lived where I had to pay utilities so I have no prior experience to go by.

Joeslop on

• Options
    NerdtendoNerdtendo Registered User regular
    edited December 2008
    Sounds pretty normal to me. You could winterize your home with a few of those kits, they're a bit of a pain in the ass to put up, but the added insulation could save you some cash in the long run.

The house we live in over here is huge, and it's insulated extremely poorly. We just don't turn on the heat unless the house is in danger of dropping below 35 degrees. A single month's gas bill last year was 1300 dollars. We're not planning on renewing our lease another year.

Space heaters are a life saver for us, you could also consider the same thing. Turn down the heat, and stick to your room for most of the winter with a small space heater.

Nerdtendo on
    IHZR47b.png
  • Options
    PeregrineFalconPeregrineFalcon Registered User regular
    edited December 2008
    You'll have to tell us more - what kind of house, how old is it, what gas-fired appliances if any you have, and what kind of heat (direct gas heat to the furnace, or gas-heated water, or what)

For comparison, my gas bill this month (last 30 days) was about CDN$70, at ~4.0m3 a day.

PeregrineFalcon on