Options

Team Fortress 2 Clans/Tournaments

splashsplash Registered User regular
edited January 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
Hi,

I hope this is an okay place for this thread. I'd like to become more knowledgeable about the clan/tournament/league play opportunities for TF2. I've been playing regularly, sometimes on and off for maybe 8 months. I loved TFC and while I like TF2 very much, I'm coming to the conclusion that I need a more intense, high-level of play to really enjoy it.

I haven't tried Penny Arcade servers, but I tend to like places like the Q Clan, The Ville, public servers etc (if you're aware of them) that run 24 player rotation or dedicated maps. But even these places seem to be too casual. I'm satisfied when I'm forced to get "serious" when playing and can actually tell when other people know exactly what they're doing.

Clan and tournament discussion is super rare in-game. So when I've searched online to find out about who might be the top clans or the meaningful tournaments or leagues I can't tell any difference between them. I've heard people mention IRC chatrooms for more serious private tf2 games. A good first step perhaps? I haven't used IRC chatrooms in 6 years and never really knew what they were about anyways. Do you know more about this as it relates to TF2?

Where can I become enveloped in the tf2 clan/tournament community and do you have any recommendations of clans/leagues/tournaments? Thanks!

splash on

• Options
    Beren39Beren39 Registered User regular
    edited January 2009
    I'd check out the TF2 thread in the Games and Technology forum, but I personally used to be a member of the 5elements clan (http://www.5e-community.com/). They have quite a few dedicated servers across a number of games (TF2 included) and have a pretty serious recruiting process.

Beren39 on
    Go, Go, EXCALIBUR! - Trent Varsity Swim Team 2009, better watch out for me Phelps!
    camo_sig.png
  • Options