As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

stop code 7B on a dell demension e520

shmappy2004shmappy2004 Registered User regular
edited February 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
i'm currently an intern at a local computer repair shop, and don't have a whole lot of experience as of yet, and unfortunately, we didn't go over the dreaded blue screen in school at all

my problem is that i've been given a dell with xp home to work on with the usual virus removal.
i started off by using combofix, which ran with no problems
i downloaded malwarebytes onto it and did a full scan, let it run overnight. i went in to work the next morning to find what no one wants to see, the dreaded blue screen of death. it was for some registry error. so i ran malwarebytes again, this time a quick scan. blue screened in 2 minutes, same registry error.
i went online and did a little research, and found an online forum that suggested doing a windows repair install.
i popped in the disk and went through the file copying with no problems, until the end. this was a few days ago, so i don't remember exactly what happened. if i remember correctly, the installation of files went to 99%, then told me that there was some error where the installation couldn't complete, so i rebooted the computer, and bam, blue screen

i've looked at a few other forums and have tried removing and switching the ram sticks (as well as replacing them with a known good one, which the system made a weird beep at me, so my supervisor told me not to try that), and tried several different xp home disks with the same result, the fabulous blue screen of death

as stated in the title of this thread, the system is a dell demension e520 with xp home, 1 GB of ram. i think the hard drive is 150 GB or so
any other specs i will have to get back to you all tomorrow when i am at work

thank you for any help you guys can give me

shmappy2004 on

Posts

  • Options
    DeShadowCDeShadowC Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    What's the BSoD error string you're receiving and is it the same each time?

    DeShadowC on
  • Options
    KrikeeKrikee Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    STOP error codes are *always* a result of either failing hardware or bad drivers; since you are repairing this box for someone else I doubt it was because of a driver change.

    Krikee on
  • Options
    theclamtheclam Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    On Dells, you can hit F12 during boot and select Diagnostics to run a full hardware diagnostic on the system.

    BSODs often will create a log in the Event Viewer.

    Also, for any BSOD, write down the error code (e.g. STOP 0x00000007F) and paste it in the search box here: http://support.microsoft.com/
    Microsoft will usually have something on it. If that doesn't work, you can put it into Google.

    theclam on
    rez_guy.png
  • Options
    shmappy2004shmappy2004 Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    im pretty sure it's the same error every time. it does it every time i reboot the system
    i read in another thread somewhere that this type of error means that the system can't find the hard drive to boot to or something like that.
    i know that the blue screen usually indicates a hardware error. is it possible that this hard drive has failed? it's a fairly new system. only about a year old, i think. i will have to check tomorrow when i go to the shop

    i copied down the code the first time i saw it:

    0x0000007B (0xF7A0B528, 0xC0000034, 0x00000000, 0x00000000)

    i didn't copy down the text, just the code itself

    shmappy2004 on
  • Options
    shmappy2004shmappy2004 Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    ok, the other girl that works here with me came in today, and she popped the drive into another computer and ran norton on it, removed like 56 viruses, and it still blue screens on us :|
    she thought that maybe the viruses were causing the problem, but it seems they're not...

    shmappy2004 on
  • Options
    bowenbowen How you doin'? Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    0x0000007B references one of quite a few errors

    Mostly it has to do with booting. Bad driver, bad hardware, bad boot sector, boot sector virus (likely), bad drive (likely).

    There's a way we can test what it is. Take the original drive out. This should always be your first step when you're getting blue screen shit like this. If you can't get into safe mode, you're likely going to be spending lots of fucking time on this. Make sure the person you're doing this for is okay (meaning in your case, willing to pay for the time to do it).

    Once the drive is out, put another in. Install windows. Does windows work? If yes, you have no issues with hardware on the machine whatsoever. If no, hardware issues, probably should just get a new PC at this point as any time or money they're going to pay you to fix and troubleshoot further isn't going to be worth it.

    If it was yes, you probably have a boot sector virus or bad drive. The first is fixable. Not worth the time though.

    Any computer shop worth its salt uses some sort of LiveCD for file retrieval. Get the files off. Take the hard drive, put it somewhere safe, label it. Get the person a brand new hard drive. Put it in, reformat.

    All in all you're probably going to spend roughly a day with troubleshooting issues like this. My old place of employment, after losing thousands of dollars, decided a no "fix this broken PC" clause was in order. We ask them what files they were looking for, told them we'd try to get them off as best as we could, and just formatted. You can't really charge someone $400 to fix a computer that cost $400 to begin with.

    Thank you for attending Bowen's oh-shit-this-computer-is-busted-what-do-we-do Class.

    bowen on
    not a doctor, not a lawyer, examples I use may not be fully researched so don't take out of context plz, don't @ me
  • Options
    shmappy2004shmappy2004 Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    the other girl pulled the drive out and ran a checkdisk, and the supervisor decided to just reformat the hard drive. i didn't get to see what checkdisk came up with. had a project of my own, installing a few os's on my aunt's computer, which brings up a new topic, but anyway...
    yeah, we're just going to reformat, reinstall. the system was recently brought in for something else, so the data was already backed up

    so, i wanna thank everyone that made a post to offer help
    this won't be my last thread here, though :) the learning process never really ends.

    now, for the next topic:
    i'm trying to do a multiboot with linux ubuntu/win xp home/win 98. i went through the process of isntalling xp, installing a few virus programs, updating the drivers, and so on and so forth
    i went to install win 98, and didn't really get a prompt as to if i wanted to make a partition, which partition to use, ect.

    i did a little online research and found a microsoft website that said i had to install win 98 first, but when i went to wipe the drive again, i still didn't get any prompts to choose a partition
    the cd that i used had me delete the partition with xp on it, recognizing it as the only partition, and prompted me to put the second boot disk into the drive, not that i have the second disk, though :|

    the other girl i work with said she'd bring in a floppy that has win 98 on it (yes, the computer has a floppy drive, i bought it in '04)
    when i start the setup with the floppy, will it ask me to make a partition?

    shmappy2004 on
  • Options
    theclamtheclam Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    Why would you want to install 98? Put XP on it, then install Ubuntu. Ubuntu will ask how much space you want to give it.

    Also, I don't think 98 comes on floppies. A 98 floppy is probably just a boot disk that gives you a dos prompt with access to a few utilities.

    theclam on
    rez_guy.png
  • Options
    shmappy2004shmappy2004 Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    haha, that's what my coworkers asked
    she wants win 98 'cause she does embroidery work, and the programs only work with 98

    i've done a dual boot with ubuntu before, so i know how to do that
    what im not really sure of is how to do the multiboot with win 98

    shmappy2004 on
  • Options
    shmappy2004shmappy2004 Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    it's my aunt's sytem, btw

    shmappy2004 on
  • Options
    bowenbowen How you doin'? Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    Did you try to run it in compatibility mode mayhaps?

    bowen on
    not a doctor, not a lawyer, examples I use may not be fully researched so don't take out of context plz, don't @ me
  • Options
    TofystedethTofystedeth Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    bowen wrote: »
    Did you try to run it in compatibility mode mayhaps?
    This. There are very few programs from 98 that can't be tricked in some fashions into running on XP. Most of the ones that are difficult would be games and stuff, or things that need special drivers. If you absolutely must have 98 on there, follow Windows install rule, of starting with the oldest OS first.

    Tofystedeth on
    steam_sig.png
  • Options
    shmappy2004shmappy2004 Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    yeah, i checked the microsoft webiste, and it said the same thing about installing the oldest os first.

    i'm wondering if it's the cd that i'm using or something, though.
    i pop it in, and it goes through the installation process, then asks if i want to enable something to do with a mode that supports hard drives larger than 512 MB, then reboots. once it starts up again, it tells me that i need to pop in disk two. so, i take a different disk and pop it in. but it keeps telling me to put in disk two
    if i try to reboot the system with a different cd all together, the screen is completely black with text at the very top that says something along the lines of "hard disk error, no boot sector found" (i'll have to try again tomorrow when im in the shop 'cause i can't remember exactly what it says) basically, the only disk the system will boot to is the disk that tells me i need to put in disk two

    i was able to install xp with no problems what-so-ever
    do we have a bunch of bad disks or something?

    shmappy2004 on
  • Options
    bowenbowen How you doin'? Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    You need to fdisk the drive and make a partition bootable, if I remember correctly.

    bowen on
    not a doctor, not a lawyer, examples I use may not be fully researched so don't take out of context plz, don't @ me
  • Options
    TofystedethTofystedeth Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    yeah, i checked the microsoft webiste, and it said the same thing about installing the oldest os first.

    i'm wondering if it's the cd that i'm using or something, though.
    i pop it in, and it goes through the installation process, then asks if i want to enable something to do with a mode that supports hard drives larger than 512 MB, then reboots. once it starts up again, it tells me that i need to pop in disk two. so, i take a different disk and pop it in. but it keeps telling me to put in disk two
    if i try to reboot the system with a different cd all together, the screen is completely black with text at the very top that says something along the lines of "hard disk error, no boot sector found" (i'll have to try again tomorrow when im in the shop 'cause i can't remember exactly what it says) basically, the only disk the system will boot to is the disk that tells me i need to put in disk two

    i was able to install xp with no problems what-so-ever
    do we have a bunch of bad disks or something?
    I would seriously consider trying to install her embroidery software on XP. What exactly does it do? Unless it has some driver to control an embroidery bot or something there shouldn't be much keeping it from running. It would much simpler to set it up so that it runs on XP without your grandma having to do anything different than to fight with Win 98. Not to mention safer if this computer is connected to the internet.

    Or maybe you could set up VMWare on the WinXP side and run 98 Virtually. Though that is getting kind of weird, and I'm not sure how well that would work.

    Tofystedeth on
    steam_sig.png
  • Options
    shmappy2004shmappy2004 Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    hm, i'll try fiddling around with it over the weekend when i get a chance to head over to her house
    for now i'll just install xp, then the software
    thanks for your advice everyone :)

    shmappy2004 on
  • Options
    KiTAKiTA Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    STOP 0x7B is a very specific error. Windows is starting, it is loading boot.ini and going to where it thinks windows is... and there's a problem. This ini file also keeps track of the partition numbers and stuff -- if the file is GONE, it assumes partition 1 HDD 1, and on Dell systems with the Diagnostic partition as Partition 1 and the OS Partition as Partition 2, well, instant crash.

    However, given that you apparently started a Windows Repair install and it did not complete it is HIGHLY likely that your OS is hosed and you will need to do a full OSRI. Not 100% sure on that but you should be ready to do so if needed.

    However, you can try and fix it in this way. These are the commands we use at MyJob to fix this error:

    1. Boot off a Windows XP CD, preferably your Dell OS CD (usually green or purple) that will have Dell RAID/HDD drivers slipstreamed on them already.
    2. Once you get to the installation page and it actually asks you to do something, hit R to repair.
    3. Inside DOS (you may have to put in your Admin password, try leaving it blank if you don't know it) you will want to run the following commands:

    3a. chkdsk /p (Do this command over and over again until it does not find any problems or until 5 times, whatever comes first)
    3b. fixboot
    3c. fixmbr
    3d. bootcfg /rebuild
    3e. exit (this will reboot the system)

    The 3d option is your most important one, it does a full scan of your HDDs and adds whatever copies of Windows it sees to the boot.ini file.

    Another option in your system is SATA Operation. By default Dell machines are set to Autodetect RAID / AHCI. AHCI is a newer way to access HDDs that was invented after Windows XP was released, to use it with Windows XP you need to have RAID drivers installed. Dell factory installs have them, but reinstalls do not.

    You can try changing this option. On the Dimension e520, which has a really weird BIOS, you do so by the following:

    1. Boot the system
    2. When you see the Dell screen, hit F2 to enter the BIOS.
    3. Inside of BIOS, use the down arrow and enter to select "Integrated Peripherals"
    4. Inside of "Integrated Peripherals", try turning the "SATA Mode" option from RAID to IDE.

    Logging out of MyJob to head home, it's Naxx night. I'll update this more if needed. Let us know.

    KiTA on
  • Options
    shmappy2004shmappy2004 Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    oooo, thanks kita :)
    as i've already said, though, my supervisor decided to just do a format/reinstall
    but i will remember this if i ever come across this error again
    thank you!









    as for the win 98 issue. i FINALLY was able to get one of the disks to install the os. i went into dos and tried to make partitions, but for some reason, i could only make one partition that was exactly 21553 MB. which i found rather weird 'cause the hard drive i was using was like 120 GB
    i went to install xp, and the darn thing didn't see any partitions, so i just went ahead and installed xp over 98.
    i would have preferred to have the dual boot 'cause my aunt is so computer illiterate that it will be rather difficult to explain the whole "compatibility mode" to her, but i guess i have to find a way now :/

    thank you everyone for all your help and advice :)

    shmappy2004 on
  • Options
    bowenbowen How you doin'? Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    You don't have to explain the compatibility mode.

    Set it and Forget it.

    bowen on
    not a doctor, not a lawyer, examples I use may not be fully researched so don't take out of context plz, don't @ me
  • Options
    shmappy2004shmappy2004 Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    hehe, i know.
    but it might take 10 minutes to explain to her how i can get it to work through compatibility mode
    i already tried to explain it to my mom, and that took up a bit of time :|

    shmappy2004 on
  • Options
    bowenbowen How you doin'? Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    hehe, i know.
    but it might take 10 minutes to explain to her how i can get it to work through compatibility mode
    i already tried to explain it to my mom, and that took up a bit of time :|

    "I'm going to set it up so the program thinks you're running Windows98 but you're really running just this to make everything easier on you"

    Unless I'm missing something. Don't need to get too technical. Use simple words.

    bowen on
    not a doctor, not a lawyer, examples I use may not be fully researched so don't take out of context plz, don't @ me
Sign In or Register to comment.