As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

A Journey into Programming

ChrisDudeChrisDude Registered User regular
edited November 2006 in Help / Advice Forum
I would like to start getting into programming, both for personal fun and possibly as a career lead. Thing is, I've never done any programming before so I don't know where to really start learning.

What books or training regimens or resources should I look for to start this sort of thing? What language should I start with? I know C++ is very widespread but how forgiving/easy to learn is it for beginners? Any help would be greatly appreciated. :D

Chris Pennell Is A Huge Nerd - My blog. I talk about nerd-ish things a lot.
ChrisDude on

• Options
    AndorienAndorien Registered User regular
    edited November 2006
    I personally recommend starting with C or C++. As long as you have good material to learn from, you shouldn't have any problems (I started with C++ in a college course).

The advantage is that most modern languages have their syntax derived from C, resources are easy to find, and it's the industry standard to boot.

This place should give you some insight.

C# is worth a look, but I wouldn't recommend it for learning a general skill. C and C++ will teach you a lot more about how to program, and wont hold your hand. It's also Windows specific, since it's based off of Microsoft's Common Language Runtime (part of the whole .Net Framework thing).

If you have trouble with the C languages, you might look into Visual Basic, which is made for ease and rapid deployment. I don't like it since it feels too removed from the lower level aspects, and it doesn't use C syntax.