As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Oh fuck oh fuck smoke(SOLVED)

KhavallKhavall British ColumbiaRegistered User regular
So I'm playing Last Remnant on my desktop(self-built) when the screen suddenly goes black, the computer goes dark and stops running, and then I hear a loud pop and a tendril of smoke rises from the back. I'm thinking that maybe it was the PSU, based on the fact that everything stopped, and the smoke looked to come right from the psu vents and not the other fans. As soon as it popped I turned the switch on the back of the PSU off.

So... anyone think otherwise is the first question, and after that, would the PSU blowing spectacularly like that affect the rest of the system? I pretty much have no money to replace parts, let alone the parts in this computer(Q6600, 8800GT, etc.) I'm going to see about borrowing another PSU, but is it safe to hook up a PSU that normally wouldn't have the power I need just to see if things still turn on and run?

Also what the hell do I do now to make sure that this doesn't happen again.


The computer was built over the summer, and has run like gravy with everything I put it through since then fine with no problems. I do keep it on quite often, so maybe the PSU was just under strain a lot. It was a 500W Raidmax PSU. The only recent modifications I've made were in august when I added a Wireless network card and a TV card. Before that was adding a second HDD. I've got stuff backed up internally and externally, but again, I have no money and would like to not have to replace everything.

Ideas?

Khavall on

Posts

  • Options
    tsmvengytsmvengy Registered User regular
    edited March 2009
    Your components may or may not have survived. Hopefully they did. I feel like usually the PSU going won't take everything else out with it.

    I would not hook up a PSU that doesn't have enough power to all the components - you could try taking out the video card and just seeing if the thing posts with the weaker PSU.

    Next time get a PSU that's more sturdy, recommended brands are:
    Seasonic
    PC Power & Cooling
    Antec Earthwatts
    Corsair

    tsmvengy on
    steam_sig.png
  • Options
    KhavallKhavall British ColumbiaRegistered User regular
    edited March 2009
    Yeah, I was thinking about taking out the GPU... since that was a big power drain, if I use the other PSU, it should be enough if it's just doing the Mobo, fans, CPU and HDD. I'll probably also do it with nothing in USB and only one HDD so it would be able to handle it.

    Khavall on
  • Options
    tsmvengytsmvengy Registered User regular
    edited March 2009
    What's your motherboard? Does it have onboard video?

    tsmvengy on
    steam_sig.png
  • Options
    KhavallKhavall British ColumbiaRegistered User regular
    edited March 2009
    Mobo is http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128059

    I know it has a video out and I think I've used it before, when I first was installing everything... at the very least it can display the BIOS I beleive

    Khavall on
  • Options
    EgoEgo Registered User regular
    edited March 2009
    Yeah, if you've got onboard then just pop out your add-on GPU and you should be safe with a considerably weaker PSU for testing. I normally don't see catastrophic PSU failures take out other system components, but it's still a very real possibility.

    Ego on
    Erik
  • Options
    KhavallKhavall British ColumbiaRegistered User regular
    edited March 2009
    Allright. I have the other PSU coming tonight, so I guess I'll pop it out when I get home from the production meeting and see if everything works before figuring out what to do next. Hopefully it's a $70 Corsair PSU and I'm golden again... Thanks.. Panic attack mostly subsiding.

    'Till then I've got my wonderful little Eee 900 with my 17", my keyboard, and my mouse plugged in. Feels just like someone replaced the desktop with one from 1995 and stole my main monitor. Whoo

    Khavall on
  • Options
    ruforufo Registered User regular
    edited March 2009
    I had a super-cheap PSU go out on me once, almost exactly the same circumstances - all the components inside were fine.

    That's absolutely not to say that will always be the case, but I'd like to think most PSUs (even cheap ones) are designed to not fry components.

    Also, if you don't have one: Buy a UPS. And make sure it has AVR, aka Automatic Voltage Regulation. The benefit of a UPS isn't really to prevent the power from cutting out (although that's a nifty benefit), what really winds up causing havoc is when the power fluctuates above or below 110-120V - only a UPS with AVR can guard against brownouts/mild surges. You might spend $100 - $200, but it's worth it.

    rufo on
  • Options
    KhavallKhavall British ColumbiaRegistered User regular
    edited March 2009
    I've got a UPS with AVR already. I think what messed it up was just that I run it hard and it was cheap.

    Khavall on
  • Options
    EgoEgo Registered User regular
    edited March 2009
    I see a lot of cheaper PSUs that either have overrated wattage or just quit out in short order. Definitely enough that I don't put them in even the most 'budgety' systems I sell.

    Ego on
    Erik
  • Options
    KhavallKhavall British ColumbiaRegistered User regular
    edited March 2009
    This one did last almost a year, I've got to give it props for that. Right now I'm looking at the
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139004
    though.

    More Wattage anyways, all the connectors I need, enough Amperage along the 12V rail... it should keep things going.

    Until then I'll see about using the 350 that I'll be grabbing tonight with no GPU or USB stuff

    Khavall on
  • Options
    CabezoneCabezone Registered User regular
    edited March 2009
    Anything Corsair is solid power nowadays. Most modern vid card will run in low power mode without having the extra power connections hooked up. So you can still get desktop and such with them. Just be aware that you can smoke that weak power supply with too much load, being only a 350 it's prolly pretty shoddily made.

    Cabezone on
  • Options
    KhavallKhavall British ColumbiaRegistered User regular
    edited March 2009
    Yeah, I'm probably only going to use the 350 to test to see if the Mobo/CPUs busted and then until the Corsair arrives. So I'll need it to work with not everything plugged in for like a week.

    Khavall on
  • Options
    EgoEgo Registered User regular
    edited March 2009
    *whistles* 41 amps on the 12V on that thing, though. Hell, that corsair is probably under-rated.

    edit: You know, I'd be honestly tempted to try hooking up a real GPU to that corsair. I think I'll order one and do some load testing.

    edit2: not that I'm recommending that you do it, Khavall ;). But geez, 41 amps! I run plenty of high power video cards on 32A 12V rails.

    Ego on
    Erik
  • Options
    StormwatcherStormwatcher Blegh BlughRegistered User regular
    edited April 2009
    Aw man PSUs in brazil are all shit from a but that costs a lot.
    We can buy most other components fine, but PSUs and Cases suck. I guess it's the shipping.

    Stormwatcher on
    Steam: Stormwatcher | PSN: Stormwatcher33 | Switch: 5961-4777-3491
    camo_sig2.png
  • Options
    Mustachio JonesMustachio Jones jerseyRegistered User regular
    edited April 2009
    Aside from providing power, PSUs usually jump on a grenade when it comes to power surges. Looks like that's what happened here, and you could expect to see the rest of your stuff in working order. Sometimes, though, you'll get some damage from it. Hopefully not.

    Mustachio Jones on
  • Options
    MrDelishMrDelish Registered User regular
    edited April 2009
    Aw man PSUs in brazil are all shit from a but that costs a lot.
    We can buy most other components fine, but PSUs and Cases suck. I guess it's the shipping.

    aren't all components is Brazil basically twice as much because of the crazy import taxes on anything technology?

    fala portugues?

    MrDelish on
  • Options
    KhavallKhavall British ColumbiaRegistered User regular
    edited April 2009
    Aw shit. Turns out the 350 only has a 20-pin connector, I need 24-pin. So I guess no testing today... Well all I can do is order the Corsair and hope everything came out fine.

    Khavall on
  • Options
    StormwatcherStormwatcher Blegh BlughRegistered User regular
    edited April 2009
    MrDelish wrote: »
    Aw man PSUs in brazil are all shit from a but that costs a lot.
    We can buy most other components fine, but PSUs and Cases suck. I guess it's the shipping.

    aren't all components is Brazil basically twice as much because of the crazy import taxes on anything technology?

    fala portugues?

    Things are more expensive here sure, but you can buy a decent CPU and Mobo for a decent price. That's not the case with PSUs and cases, they're really shitty AND a lot more expensive. I think it's because they're very heavy and bulky components. Any decent PSU here costs like 200 dollars.

    And yeah, being Brazilian, Portuguese is my first language. I'm actually a book translator, too.

    Stormwatcher on
    Steam: Stormwatcher | PSN: Stormwatcher33 | Switch: 5961-4777-3491
    camo_sig2.png
  • Options
    SatsumomoSatsumomo Rated PG! Registered User regular
    edited April 2009
    PSU's in Mexico, which is just next door to the U.S. are just as expensive.

    The Corsair VX550 will not be found for less than $180-ish.

    A long time ago, with my 700mhz Athlon, the PSU did the same thing, it was a capacitor that blew up. I took it to an electrician and he replaced the capacitor, and the thing worked for another whole year, until the motherboard died out.

    Satsumomo on
  • Options
    tsmvengytsmvengy Registered User regular
    edited April 2009
    Satsumomo wrote: »
    PSU's in Mexico, which is just next door to the U.S. are just as expensive.

    The Corsair VX550 will not be found for less than $180-ish.

    A long time ago, with my 700mhz Athlon, the PSU did the same thing, it was a capacitor that blew up. I took it to an electrician and he replaced the capacitor, and the thing worked for another whole year, until the motherboard died out.

    Yeah, it's not shipping, it's mostly import taxes. Since in those countries only the (relatively) very well off can afford the technology it is taxed quite a bit.

    tsmvengy on
    steam_sig.png
  • Options
    SatsumomoSatsumomo Rated PG! Registered User regular
    edited April 2009
    Actually I think it's more because of the low demand (On PSU's), people here don't buy powerful custom computers much, and when they do, they just buy that $30 600W power supply because they don't know better. Electronics have a 12%-17% import tax, which is still hefty, but for example you can get an Intel E8400 for around $180, which is just slightly above the U.S. price.

    Satsumomo on
  • Options
    KhavallKhavall British ColumbiaRegistered User regular
    edited April 2009
    Allright, so the PSU shipped from NJ, meaning it arrived nice and promptly today. I tore out the old, threw in the new, and it runs like gravy. In fact it runs quieter now. Also I have enough connectors I think to power a second or third computer with this thing.

    Khavall on
  • Options
    tsmvengytsmvengy Registered User regular
    edited April 2009
    Khavall wrote: »
    Allright, so the PSU shipped from NJ, meaning it arrived nice and promptly today. I tore out the old, threw in the new, and it runs like gravy. In fact it runs quieter now. Also I have enough connectors I think to power a second or third computer with this thing.

    Yeah, the other nice thing about those Corsairs is that they're quiet.

    tsmvengy on
    steam_sig.png
  • Options
    EgoEgo Registered User regular
    edited April 2009
    Glad to hear you came out OK with your components.

    Really looking forward to trying that corsair PSU.

    Ego on
    Erik
  • Options
    HenroidHenroid Mexican kicked from Immigration Thread Centrism is Racism :3Registered User regular
    edited April 2009
    Damn man, you lucked out. I had a PSU pop like you described once, and the only thing to make it out okay was my soundcard.

    Henroid on
  • Options
    ShensShens Portland, ORRegistered User regular
    edited April 2009
    I just wanted to add that I had a cheapo PSU that did the exact same thing. I guess it is common when you have a cheap PSU hooked up to power demanding hardware.

    Side note: all my hardware was fine... for the most part.

    Shens on
  • Options
    SatsumomoSatsumomo Rated PG! Registered User regular
    edited April 2009
    Khavall wrote: »
    Allright, so the PSU shipped from NJ, meaning it arrived nice and promptly today. I tore out the old, threw in the new, and it runs like gravy. In fact it runs quieter now. Also I have enough connectors I think to power a second or third computer with this thing.

    I have a 750W Corsair unit, I needed to test out a HDD from a another computer, but I was lazy to remove it from the other computer's case.

    So while my computer was running with this PSU, I connected it to the other HDD, but it's one of those HDDs that have both a SATA and PATA power connector, I hadn't noticed it was still connected to one of them. So when I plugged it in, the whole other computer lights up and turns on (Well just the components that use 12V), I thought that would be impossible. So yes, these little babies can definitely power up to computers at once :P

    Satsumomo on
  • Options
    TethTeth __BANNED USERS regular
    edited April 2009
    Made me think: years ago, and this is going back to the Internet bubble when-I-was-fit-college-days, I was working on a computer when a chip on the ISA video card blew so hard it burned a perfect circle through the card and a IDE ribbon cable next to it, and caught some of the years worth of dust inside of the steel-plated Gateway beast (remember when desktops weighed like 25 pounds?) on fire for a few seconds.

    Teth on
    #1
  • Options
    MangarooMangaroo LondonRegistered User regular
    edited April 2009
    When i had finally finished setting up my arm-and-a-leg rig and turned it on for the first time i heard a loud bang and smoke came out from the back (as well as the lights in the house turning off). I had a screw connecting the motherboard to the case. I went nuts. Luckily it was a Corsair HX1000W Power Supply which had protected the rest of the system (thankfully!).

    Mangaroo on
Sign In or Register to comment.