As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Mac Problems- FTP problem still happening.

beavotronbeavotron Registered User regular
edited April 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
Hey forum
I am having technical problems with my shitty ass macbook pro that i want to throw at a wall because it's not worth the money I paid for it.

Here is the problem: It randomly decided to stop letting me connect to my ftp server to upload shit to my web space.

fireftp gives no error, textwrangler gives "MacOS error -3221", which when I look up on mac's website does not seem to exist

Can someone help me before I waste a bunch of money by throwing this piece of expensive crap off the deck?
and telling me to buy a pc won't help cause i have one, it's just in storage and i already spent the money on this one
thanks, and <3

beavotron on

Posts

  • wasted pixelswasted pixels Registered User regular
    edited April 2009
    Do you have a firewall installed, i.e. McAfee? If not, does your ISP have a built-in firewall of some kind?

    EDIT: Okay, on second read, sounds like you're using OSX, not boot camping into Windows as I initially thought (forgot fireftp was multi-platform). Either way, is there a firewall enabled in OS X itself or at the network/router level?

    wasted pixels on
  • beavotronbeavotron Registered User regular
    edited April 2009
    no to both of those things
    i tried using OS's built in FTP and this time i got the error -36
    which when i looked up on apple's website is I/O error (bummers)

    i am this close to throwing it out the window i swear to god, i have never been so frustrated with a computer in my life.

    beavotron on
  • wasted pixelswasted pixels Registered User regular
    edited April 2009
    beavotron wrote: »
    no to both of those things
    i tried using OS's built in FTP and this time i got the error -36
    which when i looked up on apple's website is I/O error (bummers)

    i am this close to throwing it out the window i swear to god, i have never been so frustrated with a computer in my life.

    Have you tried plugging directly into your cable/DSL modem, completely bipassing wifi/your router?

    wasted pixels on
  • beavotronbeavotron Registered User regular
    edited April 2009
    beavotron wrote: »
    no to both of those things
    i tried using OS's built in FTP and this time i got the error -36
    which when i looked up on apple's website is I/O error (bummers)

    i am this close to throwing it out the window i swear to god, i have never been so frustrated with a computer in my life.

    Have you tried plugging directly into your cable/DSL modem, completely bipassing wifi/your router?

    That is a smart idea
    but the modem is in a room where our roomie is asleep
    so instead I tried to connect to it from humble's mac and it turns out that it's giving me the same errors on his
    so it must be something wrong with our internet connection or something

    this is the part where i feel really dumb and apologize to my computer.


    i'm sorry, apple face :(

    beavotron on
  • TrentusTrentus Registered User regular
    edited April 2009
    beavotron wrote: »
    "MacOS error -3221", which when I look up on mac's website does not seem to exist

    While I don't have a solution to your problem and am unable to look into it further (as the internet is being extremely dodgey and it's time for bed anyway), I can give you one little tip which may or may not help you.

    If in the future you're given an error code you can't find much on, you can grep /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/CarbonCore.framework/Headers/MacErrors.h for your error code to find out a bit more about it.

    I grepped for 3221 and the result was thus:
    kEINVALErr = -3221, /* Invalid argument */

    I hope that can lead you to something a bit more helpful.

    Trentus on
  • FFFF Once Upon a Time In OaklandRegistered User regular
    edited April 2009
    Just for shits...

    Try using Terminal to ftp to your ftp site and make it output in verbose mode. So, for example:
    ftp -v ftp://yourftpsite.com
    

    It may give you some insight as to what's going on, or might tell you where the connection failed (i.e. connected to the ftp site but the connection dropped, etc)

    FF on
    Huh...
  • BlindZenDriverBlindZenDriver Registered User regular
    edited April 2009
    Cyberduck is the FTP client on Mac.

    Most likely it will not work either with problem however perhaps you will get an error message you can google and find a solution to.

    BlindZenDriver on
    Bones heal, glory is forever.
  • SzechuanosaurusSzechuanosaurus Registered User, ClubPA regular
    edited April 2009
    -36 and -3221 seem to be generally related to issues with firewalls and/or network set-ups. If you aren't running a firewall on your laptop and you have a bunch of different devices on your network you might try resetting your laptop's IP address as it's possible it's been allocated the same IP as another device on the network. Usually this is as simple as rebooting the laptop and/or turning the airport off and back on again, it should pick another IP address that doesn't match any other devices on the network. It can get pretty screwy if you have routers daisy-chained and stuff and devices end up matching IPs if they aren't booted up in just the right sequence.

    Alternatively, I guess it could be an issue at your host's end. Maybe check with them that they aren't experiencing problems and try to upload files through their browser-based FTP interface if they have one.

    Szechuanosaurus on
  • beavotronbeavotron Registered User regular
    edited April 2009
    Okay so it's been a full two days and I am still unable to connect to my ftp server from any computer in this house.
    I tried using Terminal to connect to it and it seemed to work, but I don't know anything about terminal so I don't know how to access my directories and shit.
    but using the built-in Mac FTP client times out and gives an error message, as does using FireFTP and CyberDuck

    I plugged right into the modem to by-pass the router, same problem
    i called my ISP, they don't know what's happening
    I am confused, help me techy peoples!

    beavotron on
  • EggyToastEggyToast Jersey CityRegistered User regular
    edited April 2009
    so in terminal, once you're logged in, type ls to list the directories. If it works, then yeah, something is weird. cd is for change directories, which you can try as well.

    If you can move around the FTP in terminal, then yeah something is up. But I'm wondering if you're simply getting the same sort of rejection via command line, but don't recognize it because you're unfamiliar?

    Does your webhost provide an online file management page? Mine does, which is convenient when I need to do something but am not on my home computer (or when FTP is flipping out).

    EggyToast on
    || Flickr — || PSN: EggyToast
  • beavotronbeavotron Registered User regular
    edited April 2009
    so i managed to upload stuff using terminal
    but i am still unable to connect through clients
    weirdest fucking thing.

    beavotron on
  • EggyToastEggyToast Jersey CityRegistered User regular
    edited April 2009
    Have you tried turning off or on Passive mode? It's sometimes abbreviated to PASV in the settings. It should be connection specific.

    EggyToast on
    || Flickr — || PSN: EggyToast
  • beavotronbeavotron Registered User regular
    edited April 2009
    in what settings?
    i am computer dumb

    beavotron on
  • physi_marcphysi_marc Positron Tracker In a nutshellRegistered User regular
    edited April 2009
    Not sure if EggyToast was referring to this option, but go to System Preferences, Security, Firewall, Advanced. You can now turn on or off Passive mode. I'm not sure if it's gonna help, but there's no harm trying.

    physi_marc on
    3DS Friend Code: 3952-7043-7606
    Switch Friend Code: 3102-5341-0358
    Nintendo Network ID: PhysiMarc
  • EggyToastEggyToast Jersey CityRegistered User regular
    edited April 2009
    Sorry, by saying connection specific I meant within the specific FTP program.

    So in Cyberduck, go Open Connection, pick your FTP server, and then click "more options." Change the Connect Mode to Active or Passive, and try that. If it doesn't work, try the other one.

    If it used to work but no longer works, often that's because your web server changed something about its connection. Have you contacted whoever that is to see why you can't connect? They may have changed to SFTP or an active/passive connection.

    EggyToast on
    || Flickr — || PSN: EggyToast
Sign In or Register to comment.