As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Best PC speakers?

jasonlesterjasonlester Registered User regular
Sick of these 99 dollar pieces of crap turning down the volume for no reason

They snap, crackle and pop like rice bubbles, and are quite terrible. They are 5.1, and I don't really have a need for that.

So, 2.1 speakers. I have heard logitech's offering, which is nice, but are their other options.

Price isn't so much of an issue rather than sound quality. I'm a musician, but don't really have the need to splurge on nice monitors at the moment.

I've heard good things from Logitech and m-audio.

Current speakers are creative, and I'd like to steer clear of them.

edit: It will be used mostly for movies and music. 400 dollar budget I guess. Hopefully less.

jasonlester on

• Options
    ScrubletScrublet Registered User regular
    edited April 2009
    Great news...that $400 budget is way overkill unless you go for high end 5.1 (and even then, for computer speakers, probably still overkill). Logitech is good, and you could probably just go to Newegg and buy as nice a 2.1 set from them as you want. If you're willing to hunt around, I strongly recommend the older Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 speakers. These things get amazing bass, can go to fairly high volume without a problem, and sound amazing. They were part of Klipsch's short-lived foray into computer speakers, and aren't made anymore.

Scrublet on
    subedii wrote: »
    I hear PC gaming is huge off the coast of Somalia right now.

PSN: TheScrublet
  • Options
    Rigor MortisRigor Mortis Registered User regular
    edited April 2009
    Logitech speakers are good for gaming. I'd stick with pro audio gear for music. You could easily get some nice monitors with that budget so I wouldn't consider it a splurge.