As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Career Transition?

The LandoStanderThe LandoStander Registered User regular
edited May 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
With the job market what it is and my degree not really helping me in finding a job I'm considering a few paths to take in the near future that I hope will lead to some modicum of job security and satisfaction as well as the ability to buy a house and start a family.

I'm in my late 20's now, married going on four years now. My wife and I own a condo in Louisville where I got my Master's degree in Psychology from U of L. The degree is turning out to be more of a liability than an asset as I search for jobs. Jobs in Psychology, I lose out to people with PhD's who couldn't get jobs for PhD holders. So when I apply at more run of the mill jobs I get a raised eyebrow and a "Why not apply to a job in Psychology?"

Still, I've managed to land a 'long term' gig through a Temp agency doing data entry and other such things at a company that's contracted by the government to consolidate and process student loans. The upshot here is that I'm actually getting low level security clearance (C-5) and experience in handling student financial aid stuff.