The new forums will be named Coin Return (based on the most recent vote)! You can check on the status and timeline of the transition to the new forums here.
The Guiding Principles and New Rules document is now in effect.

QUICK! Excel help needed!

1ddqd1ddqd Registered User regular
Here's what I have - a set of data exported from a program, organized into nice little cells.

I need to calculate some totals based on these numbers, but excel comes up with 0.

If I double click (to edit) any of these values, then press enter (without doing anything) then the text seems to be converted to a readable entry for the formula. I have to "edit" each cell to get it to do this.

Here's an example:

The highlighted entries I've double clicked to "edit" and pressed Enter on - these will add up.
TimeConverted.jpg

The highlighted entries here have yet to be "edited" - these will NOT add up (come to 00:00:00)
TimeRaw.jpg

When I do this:
TimeEdit.jpg

the time converts to a "readable" format for the formula.

I can't do this to the 4,000 plus cells individually. How do I convert them? I *have* tried changing the format to each column to the proper time (the time format that says "37:30:55")

1ddqd on

Posts

  • DiannaoChongDiannaoChong Registered User regular
    edited July 2009
    can you export without the leading 0's? Its pulling the numbers in as text, and when you hit enter on the cell, it re-reads the data as a number, and lets it get calculated.

    My only other suggestion is writing a macro to enter the cell, and leave and go to the next and repeat, and just let it run. this is the brute force method but will work.

    edit:Another option, make a new column, and have it do a convert function on the cell, copy the formula down, and that should work for each column.

    DiannaoChong on
    steam_sig.png
  • 1ddqd1ddqd Registered User regular
    edited July 2009
    The macro would be awesome but I don't know how to write one.

    1ddqd on
  • DiannaoChongDiannaoChong Registered User regular
    edited July 2009
    Do you know how to record a macro?

    if you find the button, once you are recording(already have the cell highlighted):
    hit F2
    Hit enter
    Hit the down arrow to go to the cell bellow

    Now stop recording.

    go to edit the macro (open the menu, instead of running it, click edit instead)

    in the new menu you will see lines of code, at the end (before the lines that say end [whatever]), type "call [x]" without "'s, and [x] is the exact name of the macro. save it and then run the macro. It should run through every cell in a column, and then give you an error. This is fine, it still did its job. it takes time, and I probably fucked up a step.

    I am doing this without being able to see an excel spreadsheet. I am also assuming you are not using some other software, but actual ms excel. Sorry if it dosent work. I can write a macro an detailed instructions once i get to work tomarrow.

    DiannaoChong on
    steam_sig.png
  • bigwahbigwah Registered User regular
    edited July 2009
    Select the column, format, set as number.

    bigwah on
    LoL Tribunal:
    "Was cursing, in broken english at his team, and at our team. made fun of dead family members and mentioned he had sex with a dog."
    "Hope he dies tbh but a ban would do."
  • 1ddqd1ddqd Registered User regular
    edited July 2009
    Do you know how to record a macro?

    if you find the button, once you are recording(already have the cell highlighted):
    hit F2
    Hit enter
    Hit the down arrow to go to the cell bellow

    Now stop recording.

    go to edit the macro (open the menu, instead of running it, click edit instead)

    in the new menu you will see lines of code, at the end (before the lines that say end [whatever]), type "call [x]" without "'s, and [x] is the exact name of the macro. save it and then run the macro. It should run through every cell in a column, and then give you an error. This is fine, it still did its job. it takes time, and I probably fucked up a step.

    I am doing this without being able to see an excel spreadsheet. I am also assuming you are not using some other software, but actual ms excel. Sorry if it dosent work. I can write a macro an detailed instructions once i get to work tomarrow.
    This sounds fantastic. I'll give it a try

    1ddqd on
  • 1ddqd1ddqd Registered User regular
    edited July 2009
    Ok, update. I tried the macro thing but when I saw the code something caught my eye:
    macro-1.jpg

    When I insert the Call function, it repeats, but it constantly goes to that entered amount, instead of just selecting, pressing enter, and moving down.

    1ddqd on
  • DiannaoChongDiannaoChong Registered User regular
    edited July 2009
    Try what bigwah said, and ill work on your macro, I cant exactly remember the syntax needed, but I know around about what you need to put in there. it recorded it differently then how earlier versions of excel would I think.

    You want something like... (work in progres)
    sub macro1()
    range(activecell.column(), activecell.row() + 1).activate
    call Macro1()
    end sub
    
    I don't think that will work, theres something wonky about the functions with activecell that I am missing, if someone else knows what is wrong with that please chime in, otherwise im stuck until tomarrow.

    Edit: Did you try copying the column, and pasting it in another column? or making a formula in the next column equaling the value, then pasting them as value? (if A1 is to get fixed, in B1 type =A1, and either you will get your value, or you can copy and paste the entire column as a value removing the function, and that might do it).

    DiannaoChong on
    steam_sig.png
  • gnombolgnombol Registered User regular
    edited July 2009
    Try to save your spreadsheet as a CSV file and load it again.

    (Here's my theory: even though those are time values somehow Excel is convinced they are text, but when you press 'enter' after each one, Excel re-interprets the contents and recognizes they are times. By exporting and reimporting it you can make it re-interpret the whole spreadsheet at once. At least, it works on a small sample I tried.)

    gnombol on
  • tsmvengytsmvengy Registered User regular
    edited July 2009
    Select all cells
    Right click -> format cells
    Select "Time"
    Pick the format you want (00:00:00)

    Or you can pick "custom format" and select h:mm:ss

    tsmvengy on
    steam_sig.png
  • DiannaoChongDiannaoChong Registered User regular
    edited July 2009
    If he formats the cells, it will still read them as text I believe. Thats the entire reason he sees leading zeroes when he opens it.

    DiannaoChong on
    steam_sig.png
  • tsmvengytsmvengy Registered User regular
    edited July 2009
    If he formats the cells, it will still read them as text I believe. Thats the entire reason he sees leading zeroes when he opens it.

    Hmm, yeah

    Try copying the cells to notepad (all at once) then copy>Paste Special into excel.

    tsmvengy on
    steam_sig.png
  • DiannaoChongDiannaoChong Registered User regular
    edited July 2009
    Try what bigwah said, and ill work on your macro, I cant exactly remember the syntax needed, but I know around about what you need to put in there. it recorded it differently then how earlier versions of excel would I think.

    You want something like... (work in progres)
    sub macro1()
    range(activecell.column(), activecell.row() + 1).activate
    call Macro1()
    end sub
    
    I don't think that will work, theres something wonky about the functions with activecell that I am missing, if someone else knows what is wrong with that please chime in, otherwise im stuck until tomarrow.

    Edit: Did you try copying the column, and pasting it in another column? or making a formula in the next column equaling the value, then pasting them as value? (if A1 is to get fixed, in B1 type =A1, and either you will get your value, or you can copy and paste the entire column as a value removing the function, and that might do it).
    Sub macro1()
       ActiveCell.Value = ActiveCell.Value
       ActiveCell.Offset(1, 0).Activate
       Call macro1
    End Sub
    


    Just ran this on some test data and it worked for me. Let me know if that works, just paste this in instead of what you have, and run until it breaks for each column.

    DiannaoChong on
    steam_sig.png
  • CauldCauld Registered User regular
    edited July 2009
    I've come across this before, I found this less than elegant solution. Select the columns one at a time, go to Data -> Text to Columns, click through making sure the format is set to 'general' and then click finish. That should do it. Make sure the default dilimeted method doesn't create multiple columns.

    Cauld on
Sign In or Register to comment.