As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Laptop isn't working

LanzLanz ...Za?Registered User regular
edited December 2006 in Help / Advice Forum
okay, I have no idea what's going on, but here's a short summary of what's happened (this should be the proper order of events, I've gottne myself mixed up a bit earlier trying to recount it to a friend.):

-I have a Toshiba Satellite M45-S265

-During a game of online Go via a program that uses Java (somethign about JVM I'm told), I lose the connection to the internet. I go to reset, but the taskbar dissapears and returns, I can't access the start menu and am forced to turn it off at the power button.

-I restart the computer. Upon restart, I'm presented with the strange presence of my laptop finding new hardware, and asking if I want to install an IEEE 1394 Controller (which I'm told is firewire) I select no. I'm rather confused, because the only thing plugged into my laptop is the power cord. somehow, it installs anyway (or claims it does).

-Following the advice on another forum, I disable the IEEE 1394 controller from the device manager or whatever it is in system information

I attempt to use the computer, thinking everything is fixed. The wireless card still won't work. -The computer freezes sometime around here. [this is where my memory is fuzzy. I'm trying to remember . Either way, something happens and I am forced to reset the computer manually)

-I boot it back up and perform a system restore. After the restore is done and the laptop powers down, it boots back up but freezes. this lasts for several minutes. Then it finally loads up, and I'm then stuck on a "please wait. . . . ." screen for Seven minutes, when I finally give up and turn the laptop off manually, again.

-I boot the laptop up again, am presented the option to restart in various safe modes, from the last known good configuration, or boot normally. I choose last good known configuration

-It boots fine, and goes through all the normal system restore stuff that XP does after it loads back up.

-Things go fine, I think I've fixed things. A little while later, I play Go again after redownloading the JVM client. I exit it, and enter it again a few minutes later. after talking with someone about the game we had played earlier, my laptop looses the connection again. checking device managers, the wireless card isn't turning on (I noticed this as well before doing the system restore)

-I do another system restore. This same thing happens again, except I power down when it seems teh laptop will not boot XP. I try to turn it on again, it won't boot XP (Last known good configuration), and I turn off, and back on, and it still won't boot (Start Windows normally)

-I turn it off, close the lid, let it sit and turn it upside down (to check the fan, but I digress).

-Just now, I've turned it back on, chose to boot normally, it was really slow in booting (stuttering a few times), it loads the "please wait. . . . . . . . . . . . ." screen, and is now sitting on a Blue Screen of Death type thing.
A problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer.

PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA

If this is the first time you've seen this stop error screen, restart your computer. If this screen appears again, follow these steps:

Check to make sure any new hardware or software is properly installed. If this is a new installation, ask your hardware or software manufacturer for any windows updates you might need.

If problems continue. disable or remove any newly installed hardware or softawre. Disable BIOS memory option such as caching or shadowing. 
If you need to use safe mode to remove or disable components, restart your computer, pres F8 to select Advanced Startup options, and then select Safe Mode.

Techical Information

*** STOP: 0x00000050 (0xBA372A00, 0x00000000, 0x805F0AA, 0x00000000)

***w29n51.sys - Address BA272A00 base at BA372A00, Datestamp 00000000

Beginning dump of physical memory
Physical memory dump complete
Contact your system administrator or technical support group for further assistance.

please, help me figure out why my laptop isn't working :(

waNkm4k.jpg?1
Lanz on

Posts

  • Harlingtox ADHarlingtox AD Registered User regular
    edited December 2006
    Disable the pagefile, reboot, re-enable pagefile?

    Harlingtox AD on
    wwintroxo6.jpg
  • LanzLanz ...Za?Registered User regular
    edited December 2006
    Disable the pagefile, reboot, re-enable pagefile?

    Amendment: I have no clue what the hell I'm doing at this point, and have no idea how do things wiht a pagefile

    Lanz on
    waNkm4k.jpg?1
  • Harlingtox ADHarlingtox AD Registered User regular
    edited December 2006
    nm
    The error is in a non pagefile area.
    Run a memory diagnostic.

    Harlingtox AD on
    wwintroxo6.jpg
  • LanzLanz ...Za?Registered User regular
    edited December 2006
    nm
    The error is in a non pagefile area.
    Run a memory diagnostic.

    how do I do that?

    Lanz on
    waNkm4k.jpg?1
  • Harlingtox ADHarlingtox AD Registered User regular
    edited December 2006
    Harlingtox AD on
    wwintroxo6.jpg
  • LanzLanz ...Za?Registered User regular
    edited December 2006
    I've rebooted in safe mode.

    I'm presented with the "Found new hardware Wizard"

    Nothing is plugged into this computer, and it's the same thing as the last time, IEEE 1394 Controller.

    What do I do?

    Lanz on
    waNkm4k.jpg?1
  • LanzLanz ...Za?Registered User regular
    edited December 2006
    okay, looking in device managers, 3 things are marked with little yellow dots with exclamation points:

    Network adapters
    -Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network Connection
    Device Status: This device cannot start. (Code 10)

    Other devices
    -IEEE 1394 Controller (again, I have never installed this to my knowledge and I still have a screen asking me to)
    Device Status: This device is not configured correctly. (Code 1)
    To reinstall the drivers for this device, click Reinstall driver

    Click troubleshoot to start the troubleshooter for this device.

    PCMIA adapters
    -Generic Cardbus Controller
    Device Status: This device is not working properly because Windows cannot load the drivers required for this device. (Code 31)

    You need to restart your computer before the changes you made to this device will take affect.

    Click troubleshoot to start the troubleshooter for this device.

    Lanz on
    waNkm4k.jpg?1
  • LanzLanz ...Za?Registered User regular
    edited December 2006
    I can now get it to work for short periods of time after a successful system restore but it goes through this cycle:

    -Boots up
    -everything works fine
    -several minutes later, it locks up. I'm forced to restart Via the power button
    -it begins to boot, gets stuck at the XP loaing screen with that bar thing. I'm forced to reboot
    -I get the options of how to restart the computer, I choose to boot XP Normally
    -boots up and everything works but the Wireless connection
    -I go Start > Shut down > Restart
    -it restarts
    -it boots up
    -everything works fine
    -restart cycle

    Lanz on
    waNkm4k.jpg?1
  • minor threatminor threat Registered User regular
    edited December 2006
    do you have a firewire port somewhere on the computer? you don't necessarily have to have something plugged into the computer to have something inside it not be recognized.

    you could run check disk, but i don't know if that will help. it would at least rule out a disk error as the cause of the problems.

    does the laptop still freeze in safe mode?

    minor threat on
  • LanzLanz ...Za?Registered User regular
    edited December 2006
    do you have a firewire port somewhere on the computer? you don't necessarily have to have something plugged into the computer to have something inside it not be recognized.

    you could run check disk, but i don't know if that will help. it would at least rule out a disk error as the cause of the problems.

    does the laptop still freeze in safe mode?

    it's freezing at boot up now. never froze in safe mode I don't think

    Lanz on
    waNkm4k.jpg?1
  • LanzLanz ...Za?Registered User regular
    edited December 2006
    and then I discover in safe mode there is a very strange log there.

    general consensus with my family: Very nasty spyware :(

    looks like a formatting is coming :(

    Lanz on
    waNkm4k.jpg?1
  • minor threatminor threat Registered User regular
    edited December 2006
    is there a reason to believe that it's spyware? i mean, it certainly could be spyware behavior but have scans turned anything up? adaware, spybot, windows defender, etc?

    minor threat on
  • LanzLanz ...Za?Registered User regular
    edited December 2006
    is there a reason to believe that it's spyware? i mean, it certainly could be spyware behavior but have scans turned anything up? adaware, spybot, windows defender, etc?

    after going into Safe mode, I was going around my C Drive and stumbled across a strange folder with a wordpad file with a ton of logs in it, with various supspicious stuff in it, (for one, "Cloaking") and the fact that it makes note of a lot of registry stuff.

    I'd post it here if I could get the laptop to boot in safe mode so I could (hopefully, I'm not sure if this program works in safe mode) use my DVD burner to burn a disc with the wordfile I copied the logs into

    Lanz on
    waNkm4k.jpg?1
  • LanzLanz ...Za?Registered User regular
    edited December 2006
    why won't it let me boot from my boot disc?

    I'm trying to do a format now. I have these options:
    Please Select:

    1. Install Express Media Player.
    2. Proceed with Recovery CD

    Please Select option 1 or 2. [1,2]?_

    I'm pressing 2 but nothing is happening.

    Lanz on
    waNkm4k.jpg?1
  • minor threatminor threat Registered User regular
    edited December 2006
    if you have your heart set on a reformat, this will guide you through it. there also have instructions on how to format for fat32, if that's what you're using.

    you should be able to boot from a cd by pressing f8 as your computer boots up, right after you hear the beep, and it will let you choose how to boot up. to make sure it will boot from a cd, you can change the BIOS settings to make it look for a cd to boot from before it goes to the hard drive. when you power it on, hit DEL and you should be in the BIOS menu. somewhere in there will be the option to change boot priority and you can make booting from a cd top priority. that shouldn't be necessary though.

    minor threat on
  • LanzLanz ...Za?Registered User regular
    edited December 2006
    the thing is, it boots from the CD, but still freezes when I get to the place to enter the commands

    Lanz on
    waNkm4k.jpg?1
Sign In or Register to comment.