As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

[DnD 4e] DMs- Help a naga out!

GavinGavin Registered User regular
edited July 2009 in Critical Failures
Well good sirs, the time has come for me to step up in my regular DM's place and run a campaign for my friends while he's in Guatemala. Honestly, my regular DM is pretty awful at almost every aspect of the position, but I have to admit, after putting myself in his shoes, I'm finding more sympathy for his generally un-prepared blunder of an adventure.

I have my concept, and I think it's a pretty good one at that, but, I'm just... sooooo overwhelmed.

The process of creating an entire world leaves me entirely strung out and unorganized, with various bits of concept strewn about in various places.

Please, any experienced DMs, it's my first time trying to create a campaign of my own, where do I start?

What I need is advice on things to do first, next, and last, and anything helpful in between.

As far as the actual mechanics of running a game, I'm largely prepared...

Let the DM wisdom fall.

Gavin on

• Options
    edited July 2009
    Even just a link to a helpful place to start with this sort of issue would be greatly appreciated.

Gavin on
  • Options
    AriviaArivia I Like A Challenge Earth-1Registered User regular
    edited July 2009
    I'm typing something, it just takes a little while sometimes.

Arivia on
    huntresssig.jpg
  • Options
    edited July 2009
    A tip from long-ago Dungeoncraft:

i) Never create more than you have to.