As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Using a wireless router as a wireless reciever

rocketshipreadyrocketshipready Registered User regular
edited July 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
I just moved into a new apartment where my upstairs neighbors have a wireless setup. However, my desktop doesn't have a wireless card, and I'd like to use my router (Linksys WRT310N) as a receiver. Is this at all possible/easy-ish to set up?

rocketshipready on

Posts

  • Options
    DrFrylockDrFrylock Registered User regular
    edited July 2009
    What you want is to put that router in "bridge mode" or "client mode," so it functions as a wireless client rather than a wireless access point. Unfortunately, the WRT series of routers does not include that feature in their default firmware (the more pricey WAP series does). However, if you are feeling adventuresome, you can install some open alternative firmware like DD-WRT which will completely replace the software running on your router with open-source software that has a bridging option.

    I have never used the DD-WRT software on an -N router (just the WRT54GL, which is pretty much built just for running DD-WRT) so I don't know if you'll lose any speed and/or functionality with DD-WRT. I can confirm that it runs rock solid on my WRT54GL though.

    DrFrylock on
  • Options
    StudioAudienceStudioAudience Registered User regular
    edited July 2009
    Hm, I don't think the WRT310N natively supports bridging a wireless connection. It does look like it can be flashed with DD-WRT, which would allow it to act as a bridge. However, it also appears that this might make the router a little hotter than normal. This website has some basic instructions on how to flash the firmware onto your router.

    I did a simliar process on a different model router and it worked fine for my needs. I actually managed to play xbox live with relatively no lag. Really though, it would be much easier to just buy a wireless adapter for PC unless cost is an issue.

    Also, it's none of my business, but I hope that your neighbors know and are okay with you piggy-backing onto their connection.

    StudioAudience on
    studaud.png
    GFWL: studaud (for SF4)
  • Options
    rocketshipreadyrocketshipready Registered User regular
    edited July 2009
    Well, I enabled ICS on my laptop and ran an ethernet cable between my laptop and desktop (XP -> Win7). It worked great for about five minutes, but not anymore. The Win7 Network thing says I am in fact connected to the internet, but Firefox and Pidgin just don't want to work. It says I'm connected to my "Home" network (the only one that popped up when it was working), and an "Unidentified Network", listed as public. I have a feeling that public network is what's giving me the issue, but I can't for the life of me figure out how to disconnect from it!

    My upstairs neighbor says he might have an extra wireless card laying around, which would make the whole problem go away, of course. Hopefully he can find it.

    rocketshipready on
  • Options
    rocketshipreadyrocketshipready Registered User regular
    edited July 2009
    Well, I had to disable TCP/IP v6 in my LAN settings to get it to work, but it works. Now for some reason, Amazon won't load. Everything else works fine though

    rocketshipready on
  • Options
    rocketshipreadyrocketshipready Registered User regular
    edited July 2009
    Well, the laptop->desktop network is working pretty well. Is there anything neat I can do with my laptop, though? It's an old Thinkpad T42 that I was thinking of throwing Ubuntu on, but right now it's just kind of sitting on my desk acting the part of an access point for my desktop. It'd be nice to have some kind of crazy setup with it since it's going to be out anyway.

    rocketshipready on
Sign In or Register to comment.