As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Help me optimize my Blogger blog! (Image compression related, overall look)

HIGH NOONHIGH NOON Registered User regular
edited August 2010 in Help / Advice Forum
Hey guys,

I've been blogging on and off since I was about 12 and always took an interest in the amateurish self-publication the internet allows. I am now in my second year of university, and am pursuing a degree in Journalism. I write for a few published newspapers, 'zines, etc., on campus and around my city, but figure having a personal blog for all my writings that don't end up on someone elses publication would be a good idea. The only difference is I want to make this one a bit less "personal" and a bit more "professional", while still being original. I've begun to design banners, graphics, and whatnot for my blog, and am really liking the way it's turning out; however, I still have a few (obvious) kinks. Here is a link to my blog.

The main thing I'm trying to figure out is, if you'll notice the most recent post on my blog, the pictures are pretty awful quality, but when you click on them, the "full" size (which is really only a couple pixels larger than the thumbnails) becomes way more sharper and overall better looking. I'm guessing this is because when I processed my pictures, I didn't make them the proper size they should be for the body component of the blog, and then Blogger implemented their awful compression on my otherwise high-quality processed shots. Should I compress them to their fixed size and try re-uploading them? Or am I missing something in my HTML that would increase the overall quality of the thumbnails?