Options

PA Programming Thread: Arguing, Cursing, and Recursing

• Options
    bowenbowen How you doin'? Registered User regular
    edited March 2011
    urahonky wrote: »
    Infidel wrote: »
    Hey guys I got my first programming job, and I start on Monday. I was wondering if there are any online tutorials or something that I can use to refresh my memory on Java. I've used it before many times, but I haven't used it for about a year and a half and I don't want to go into my job a complete noob.

What have you been working with?

This quarter it was SQL, the quarter before that I had MATLAB, the quarter before that it was Python, before that was OpenGL and Ruby and Scheme.

I'd figure anything that covers database and swing/gui shit would be more than fine. You probably won't do much more than database driven apps.

bowen on
    not a doctor, not a lawyer, examples I use may not be fully researched so don't take out of context plz, don't @ me
  • Options
    urahonkyurahonky Resident FF7R hater Registered User regular
    edited March 2011
    Jimmy King wrote: »
    Infidel wrote: »
    Hey guys I got my first programming job, and I start on Monday. I was wondering if there are any online tutorials or something that I can use to refresh my memory on Java. I've used it before many times, but I haven't used it for about a year and a half and I don't want to go into my job a complete noob.

What have you been working with?

This quarter it was SQL, the quarter before that I had MATLAB, the quarter before that it was Python, before that was OpenGL and Ruby and Scheme.

And what is the job? j2ee? Some sort of swing gui stuff? Back end libs? Android? What technology will you be working with. The good and bad thing about Java is that it's huge and has a ton of different stuff, so it's hard to recommend what to look up, beyond basic "intro to java" type stuff which probably won't be all that useful to you without knowing what it is you'll be working with.