As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Help critique my self portrait

The-VThe-V Registered User regular
edited November 2011 in Artist's Corner
Long time lurker here, I used to draw a lot when I was younger, but got into graphic design, and haven't worked in traditional mediums for seven years.
I am trying to start drawing again, and thought I'd start with a classic observational self-portrait, but it needs help! I wasn't happy with the result so I went over it with some markers, which didn't really help any.

Please send me some critique, break it down as much as you want, I have many years experience listening to incredibly harsh critique.
M2UCe.jpg

The-V on

• Options
    LyricalLyrical Registered User regular
    Well it should be said that despite the literal inaccuracies, you've made this into a pretty visually appealing image--your design experience definitely shows through it.

The main wonk I'm noticing is the placement of features. It seems like each piece has been given a lot of attention and is for the most part believably rendered, but the overall facial structure seems...absent.

The more time you can spend laying out the whole composition and understanding the relationships of the shapes and planes, the easier it will be to believably render something complex like a face. Getting an accurate lay in is even more crucial if you're drawing from life, cause stuff moves.

Overall, you've done a good job of paying attention to volumes, and not getting caught up with lines or surface textures (the hair is really nicely rendered) but you seem to have forgotten this with the facial hair--getting hung up on a lot of small lines rather than rendering the volumes, and it really flattens out that whole area.