As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Repasting Laptop CPU

DracilDracil Registered User regular
Hope this is the right forum (instead of Help/Advice), but because Borderlands 2 is causing my laptop CPU to hit the 90s, I've decided to repaste it even though it supposedly came with MX-2 applied. Bought a tube of MX-4 and Arctic Clean plan on doing this tonight. However, I'm still fairly new to this so I had some questions.

1. Normally I've heard you were supposed to do the middle dot method and then press it down with a heatsink to prevent bubbles, but I've read this isn't actually true anymore. i.e. it's only true for single-core CPUs and you want a line instead of a dot with multi-core CPUs since the cores aren't in the center. And with mobile CPUs, because there's no Integrated Heat Spreader, you're actually supposed to spread the past over the entire thing with a razor blade/credit card to make sure no part is left uncovered. True/False? Arctic Silver's site says to use the spread method so I'm assuming that's what I should do.

2. Assuming true, the spreading part raises some questions. Reading Arctic silver's manual, they keep warning about contamination with your finger, but wouldn't an old credit card be contaminated with all that same finger oil and other stuff? Can you just clean it with the same alcohol/cleaner fluid you use to clean the old paste? If I use the razor blade, should I be worried about scratching the CPU while trying to spread the paste or are they generally durable enough to not be a problem?