As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Run the [Chat] 3

• Options
    japanjapan Registered User regular
    Vanguard wrote: »
    Greeper wrote: »
    japan wrote: »
    I just got into an intense argument about poetry

About what

poetry. it's a form of communication that uses high levels of metaphor and sometimes rhyming structures and so forth.

read about it, it's pretty interesting. A few of my favorites are Ozymandias, The Second Coming, and The Sunlight in the Garden

I have a fucking degree in poetry

I meant like, what specifically

Ok, so,

Scotland has a position which is makar.

And a makar is something like a skald, that is, someone whose job it is to record what it is to live in this time.

Now, there are lots of sources as to what happened in a given period, but not what it is to live in a period.

And that is what I think it's important.

• Options
    Casual EddyCasual Eddy The Astral PlaneRegistered User regular
    simonwolf wrote: »
    here is a difference between Australia and America that I think says something about our respective national spirits but I am not sure what:

in Australia, when you catch a taxi you always sit shotgun

in America, it seems like if you try and sit shotgun the driver will assume you are some sort of rapist

why is this

In NYC I feel like it was to protect the driver. The older cabs from the crimey era have barriers separating the driver from passengers

• Options
    The EnderThe Ender Registered User regular
    Khavall wrote: »
    The Ender wrote: »
    Houn wrote: »
    oh noes

sometimes people on the internet use cisgender in a pejorative way against people of conventional gender norms & sexuality

OH NOES

better get rid of a useful term of distinction

Exclusion, rather than inclusion.