As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

D:

Bendery It Like BeckhamBendery It Like Beckham HopelessRegistered User regular
edited January 2007 in Social Entropy++
Hey guys, I built a new computer, and guess what... It's pretty

But it also won't boot from CD, so here I sit, wondering what the fuck to do.

Happy new years you cunts.

Bendery It Like Beckham on
«134

Posts

  • Options
    LoserLoser Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    Bendery wrote:
    Hey guys, I built a new computer, and guess what... It's pretty

    But it also won't boot from CD, so here I sit, wondering what the fuck to do.

    Happy new years you cunts.

    how can it not boot from a cd

    are you retarded

    Loser on
  • Options
    ReapingWildOatsReapingWildOats Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    sup you hentai homo

    ReapingWildOats on
    mjk.gif
    Legalize Abortion!
    Pregnancy is a jewish conspiracy!
  • Options
    DrezDrez Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    Bendery wrote:
    Hey guys, I built a new computer, and guess what... It's pretty

    But it also won't boot from CD, so here I sit, wondering what the fuck to do.

    Happy new years you cunts.

    Did you buy an optical drive for the system? You need to have a CD-/DVD-ROM for it to read CDs.

    Drez on
    Switch: SW-7690-2320-9238Steam/PSN/Xbox: Drezdar
  • Options
    GafotoGafoto Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    thread fails to deliver anything at all

    Gafoto on
    sierracrest.jpg
  • Options
    LoserLoser Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    yeah wtf if you're going to bitch i'd at least like to help and solve the problem

    Loser on
  • Options
    You BastardYou Bastard Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    You have faulty RAM, man.

    Seriously, I'm just talking out of my ass right now.

    You Bastard on
    bonertownbanner.gif
  • Options
    Dely AppleDely Apple Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    Did you remember to install a hard disk and also a CD drive into the thingy

    Dely Apple on
    feets.jpg
  • Options
    Bendery It Like BeckhamBendery It Like Beckham Hopeless Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    Dely Apple wrote:
    Did you remember to install a hard disk and also a CD drive into the thingy

    I'm not that stupid...

    Bios recognizes that there is a HD and a DVD drive, and it will read the mobo bios CD, just nothing else

    what the fuck mates

    Bendery It Like Beckham on
  • Options
    DrezDrez Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    Bendery wrote:
    Dely Apple wrote:
    Did you remember to install a hard disk and also a CD drive into the thingy

    I'm not that stupid...

    Bios recognizes that there is a HD and a DVD drive, and it will read the mobo bios CD, just nothing else

    what the fuck mates

    Do you have the DVD-ROM set highest in the boot priority?

    Is your main HDD an IDE HDD? Do you have multiple HDDs and if so, how many? How many IDE devices total?

    If you have an IDE HDD, you should make that your primary master and the DVD-ROM your secondary master. They shouldn't be on the same cable if you can help it.

    Drez on
    Switch: SW-7690-2320-9238Steam/PSN/Xbox: Drezdar
  • Options
    Bendery It Like BeckhamBendery It Like Beckham Hopeless Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    Drez wrote:
    Bendery wrote:
    Dely Apple wrote:
    Did you remember to install a hard disk and also a CD drive into the thingy

    I'm not that stupid...

    Bios recognizes that there is a HD and a DVD drive, and it will read the mobo bios CD, just nothing else

    what the fuck mates

    Do you have the DVD-ROM set highest in the boot priority?

    yup

    Bendery It Like Beckham on
  • Options
    DrezDrez Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    Bendery wrote:
    Drez wrote:
    Bendery wrote:
    Dely Apple wrote:
    Did you remember to install a hard disk and also a CD drive into the thingy

    I'm not that stupid...

    Bios recognizes that there is a HD and a DVD drive, and it will read the mobo bios CD, just nothing else

    what the fuck mates

    Do you have the DVD-ROM set highest in the boot priority?

    yup

    read edit ^

    Drez on
    Switch: SW-7690-2320-9238Steam/PSN/Xbox: Drezdar
  • Options
    LoserLoser Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    Bendery wrote:
    Dely Apple wrote:
    Did you remember to install a hard disk and also a CD drive into the thingy

    I'm not that stupid...

    Bios recognizes that there is a HD and a DVD drive, and it will read the mobo bios CD, just nothing else

    what the fuck mates

    you have the most current motherboard bios?

    and since when did motherboard bioses start coming on cds

    Loser on
  • Options
    LoserLoser Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    Drez wrote:
    Bendery wrote:
    Dely Apple wrote:
    Did you remember to install a hard disk and also a CD drive into the thingy

    I'm not that stupid...

    Bios recognizes that there is a HD and a DVD drive, and it will read the mobo bios CD, just nothing else

    what the fuck mates

    Do you have the DVD-ROM set highest in the boot priority?

    Is your main HDD an IDE HDD? Do you have multiple HDDs and if so, how many? How many IDE devices total?

    If you have an IDE HDD, you should make that your primary master and the DVD-ROM your secondary master. They shouldn't be on the same cable if you can help it.

    it sees the drives so i feel like everything is installed alright

    Loser on
  • Options
    Bendery It Like BeckhamBendery It Like Beckham Hopeless Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    Loser wrote:
    Bendery wrote:
    Dely Apple wrote:
    Did you remember to install a hard disk and also a CD drive into the thingy

    I'm not that stupid...

    Bios recognizes that there is a HD and a DVD drive, and it will read the mobo bios CD, just nothing else

    what the fuck mates

    you have the most current motherboard bios?

    and since when did motherboard bioses start coming on cds

    T: DRez, I only have 1 IDE spot on the mobo, so they are stuck on the same chain

    T: Loser, beats me... but it has some bios as well as other shit on the CD

    Bendery It Like Beckham on
  • Options
    PeshPesh Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    is this thread about me yet

    Pesh on
    sigxu7.jpg
  • Options
    AirAir Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    get a boot disk

    some faggots might tell you to get some linux unix knoppix live cd shit and use that but whatever you probably got some cracked copy of xp sitting around on an old cd-r somewhere


    so yea
    a boot disk
    thats the extent of my troubleshooting advice


    google it?

    Air on
    darjeelingshortsig95.jpg
  • Options
    DrezDrez Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    Bendery wrote:
    Loser wrote:
    Bendery wrote:
    Dely Apple wrote:
    Did you remember to install a hard disk and also a CD drive into the thingy

    I'm not that stupid...

    Bios recognizes that there is a HD and a DVD drive, and it will read the mobo bios CD, just nothing else

    what the fuck mates

    you have the most current motherboard bios?

    and since when did motherboard bioses start coming on cds

    T: DRez, I only have 1 IDE spot on the mobo, so they are stuck on the same chain

    T: Loser, beats me... but it has some bios as well as other shit on the CD

    It's a longshot, but that could be the problem. Try removing the HDD and setting your optical drive up alone on the IDE channel, as a master or with cable select (remember to use the connector currently going into the HDD for the DVD-ROM rather than the one it's currently connected with). Just as a test. You won't need a HDD connected to try to boot into the Windows installation program.

    t Loser: I agree, but there's no fathomable reason I can glean that his system shouldn't boot into the CD so we gots ta think outside da box now.

    Drez on
    Switch: SW-7690-2320-9238Steam/PSN/Xbox: Drezdar
  • Options
    Bendery It Like BeckhamBendery It Like Beckham Hopeless Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    Bendery It Like Beckham on
  • Options
    LoserLoser Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    Bendery wrote:
    Loser wrote:
    Bendery wrote:
    Dely Apple wrote:
    Did you remember to install a hard disk and also a CD drive into the thingy

    I'm not that stupid...

    Bios recognizes that there is a HD and a DVD drive, and it will read the mobo bios CD, just nothing else

    what the fuck mates

    you have the most current motherboard bios?

    and since when did motherboard bioses start coming on cds

    T: DRez, I only have 1 IDE spot on the mobo, so they are stuck on the same chain

    T: Loser, beats me... but it has some bios as well as other shit on the CD

    what brand of motherboard is this?

    and when you say it can read the motherboard cd, what exactly do you mean? if you have the the priority set to boot from cd, it tried to boot from it? and that doesn't work with other cds?

    i'm assuming that the problem here is that you need to boot from a cd to install windows.

    Loser on
  • Options
    LoserLoser Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    Drez wrote:
    t Loser: I agree, but there's no fathomable reason I can glean that his system shouldn't boot into the CD so we gots ta think outside da box now.

    a good point.

    and now that i know what motherboard it is...i have actually been using gigaybte motherboards for years without any problem, so i don't know if the problem is with that. i was hoping you just bought some sketchy motherboard so we could blame it on that.

    Loser on
  • Options
    DrezDrez Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    Loser wrote:
    Bendery wrote:
    Loser wrote:
    Bendery wrote:
    Dely Apple wrote:
    Did you remember to install a hard disk and also a CD drive into the thingy

    I'm not that stupid...

    Bios recognizes that there is a HD and a DVD drive, and it will read the mobo bios CD, just nothing else

    what the fuck mates

    you have the most current motherboard bios?

    and since when did motherboard bioses start coming on cds

    T: DRez, I only have 1 IDE spot on the mobo, so they are stuck on the same chain

    T: Loser, beats me... but it has some bios as well as other shit on the CD

    what brand of motherboard is this?

    and when you say it can read the motherboard cd, what exactly do you mean? if you have the the priority set to boot from cd, it tried to boot from it? and that doesn't work with other cds?

    i'm assuming that the problem here is that you need to boot from a cd to install windows.

    Oh, sorry, I missed that.

    Bendery: It DOES boot into the CD included with the motherboard?

    If that's the case, I think you should look into cleaning your Windows CDs or obtaining a new one.

    Drez on
    Switch: SW-7690-2320-9238Steam/PSN/Xbox: Drezdar
  • Options
    Bendery It Like BeckhamBendery It Like Beckham Hopeless Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    Well, I removed the HD from the chain, and it is now at least telling me that it fails.

    And there is a prog on the CD called Xrecovery, and that boots up just fine. However, my windows CDs do not

    Boot From CD/DVD-ROM Failed, Insert system disk and press enter ...

    _

    Bendery It Like Beckham on
  • Options
    LoserLoser Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    i want to say its a problem with the cd. if you tried to copy a windows cd and didn't do it right, it won't work as a boot cd.

    Loser on
  • Options
    WezoinWezoin Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    Dudes, you got it all wrong.

    It's 2007 now, you forgot to buy the future from Sony!

    And you wonder why your computer doesnt work, pfft.

    Wezoin on
  • Options
    Threadbare SockThreadbare Sock regular
    edited January 2007
    arrow.jpg

    Threadbare Sock on
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    FOOT SWEATERS
  • Options
    Bendery It Like BeckhamBendery It Like Beckham Hopeless Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    Drez wrote:
    Loser wrote:
    Bendery wrote:
    Loser wrote:
    Bendery wrote:
    Dely Apple wrote:
    Did you remember to install a hard disk and also a CD drive into the thingy

    I'm not that stupid...

    Bios recognizes that there is a HD and a DVD drive, and it will read the mobo bios CD, just nothing else

    what the fuck mates

    you have the most current motherboard bios?

    and since when did motherboard bioses start coming on cds

    T: DRez, I only have 1 IDE spot on the mobo, so they are stuck on the same chain

    T: Loser, beats me... but it has some bios as well as other shit on the CD

    what brand of motherboard is this?

    and when you say it can read the motherboard cd, what exactly do you mean? if you have the the priority set to boot from cd, it tried to boot from it? and that doesn't work with other cds?

    i'm assuming that the problem here is that you need to boot from a cd to install windows.

    Oh, sorry, I missed that.

    Bendery: It DOES boot into the CD included with the motherboard?

    If that's the case, I think you should look into cleaning your Windows CDs or obtaining a new one.

    I used 4 different ones, all of them scratchless

    T: Loser, this one worked on my other PCs dunno why it would stop now

    Bendery It Like Beckham on
  • Options
    DrezDrez Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    Bendery wrote:
    Well, I removed the HD from the chain, and it is now at least telling me that it fails.

    And there is a prog on the CD called Xrecovery, and that boots up just fine. However, my windows CDs do not

    Boot From CD/DVD-ROM Failed, Insert system disk and press enter ...

    _

    Did you remove it from the chain and make the drive the primary master, though? Because if you keep it in the primary slave spot on the ribbon cable, it's still the slave.

    I don't think it matters, but...it's worth trying anyway.

    Drez on
    Switch: SW-7690-2320-9238Steam/PSN/Xbox: Drezdar
  • Options
    ZeroFillZeroFill Feeling much better. A nice, green leaf.Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    The motherboard's associated driver CD will not boot your computer.


    like they said get a boot cd/disk off google. But ultimately you will need a bootable copy of windows xp to load.

    once it's installing it'll probably ask for the mobo cd.

    :arrow:

    ZeroFill on
  • Options
    potatoepotatoe Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    threadbare i'm going to stab you for good

    potatoe on
  • Options
    DrezDrez Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    Loser wrote:
    i want to say its a problem with the cd. if you tried to copy a windows cd and didn't do it right, it won't work as a boot cd.

    He posted in H/A that they are legit copies.

    Drez on
    Switch: SW-7690-2320-9238Steam/PSN/Xbox: Drezdar
  • Options
    Bendery It Like BeckhamBendery It Like Beckham Hopeless Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    Drez wrote:
    Bendery wrote:
    Well, I removed the HD from the chain, and it is now at least telling me that it fails.

    And there is a prog on the CD called Xrecovery, and that boots up just fine. However, my windows CDs do not

    Boot From CD/DVD-ROM Failed, Insert system disk and press enter ...

    _

    Did you remove it from the chain and make the drive the primary master, though? Because if you keep it in the primary slave spot on the ribbon cable, it's still the slave.

    I don't think it matters, but...it's worth trying anyway.

    I had the Optical set up as the master from the start...

    maybe that is the issue?

    Bendery It Like Beckham on
  • Options
    GafotoGafoto Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    Gafoto on
    sierracrest.jpg
  • Options
    DrezDrez Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    Bendery wrote:
    Drez wrote:
    Bendery wrote:
    Well, I removed the HD from the chain, and it is now at least telling me that it fails.

    And there is a prog on the CD called Xrecovery, and that boots up just fine. However, my windows CDs do not

    Boot From CD/DVD-ROM Failed, Insert system disk and press enter ...

    _

    Did you remove it from the chain and make the drive the primary master, though? Because if you keep it in the primary slave spot on the ribbon cable, it's still the slave.

    I don't think it matters, but...it's worth trying anyway.

    I had the Optical set up as the master from the start...

    maybe that is the issue?

    You had your primary HDD set up as a slave to your optical drive? That's not really a good idea, but that's separate from the issue you are experiencing now.

    Drez on
    Switch: SW-7690-2320-9238Steam/PSN/Xbox: Drezdar
  • Options
    Threadbare SockThreadbare Sock regular
    edited January 2007
    potatoe wrote:
    threadbare i'm going to stab you for good

    that makes little sense

    Threadbare Sock on
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    FOOT SWEATERS
  • Options
    Bendery It Like BeckhamBendery It Like Beckham Hopeless Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    Gafoto wrote:

    Fuck you dude

    Bendery It Like Beckham on
  • Options
    ZeroFillZeroFill Feeling much better. A nice, green leaf.Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    I know I know


    take the disc drive out of your other computer that you know reads the disc and swap it in.

    ZeroFill on
  • Options
    Synthetic OrangeSynthetic Orange Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    catbreadsml.gif

    Clean your windows disc?

    Synthetic Orange on
  • Options
    Bendery It Like BeckhamBendery It Like Beckham Hopeless Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    ZeroFill wrote:
    I know I know


    take the disc drive out of your other computer that you know reads the disc and swap it in.

    already did it, no dice

    Bendery It Like Beckham on
  • Options
    potatoepotatoe Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    potatoe wrote:
    threadbare i'm going to stab you for good

    that makes little sense
    yeah, well, shit happens

    potatoe on
  • Options
    DrezDrez Registered User regular
    edited January 2007
    Gafoto wrote:
    [img][/img]

    fuck%2520you.jpg

    Drez on
    Switch: SW-7690-2320-9238Steam/PSN/Xbox: Drezdar
Sign In or Register to comment.