As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Rocksmith 2014 out in October Allegedly! Bass expansion now just $10 on all systems!

• Options
    KathelganKathelgan Registered User regular
    I just picked this up yesterday. Enjoying it so far. I've been playing guitar, slowly and poorly, for about 2 years now. Any advice for a newbie to slowly get better? Is it best to keep working on the technique challenges, or just diving into a song an working on it? Thanks for any tips.

• Options
    mxmarksmxmarks Registered User regular
    Do whats fun. Thats the best advice. There's a "right" way to do everything, but it doesn't always mean its the right way for you. Guitarists all have quirks, crazy things and methods that would be considered super "wrong".

Learning a song will always teach you things you can use in other songs. Learning scales will always show you things you've noticed in other songs.

Especially in the beginning, do whats enjoyable to you. I personally would do songs first. You'll be able to bust them out at parties, play them for friends and rock out to the track in the game like you're in the band. No one ever is sitting around with their friends and says "You guys wanna hear some scales!?" So learn some tunes, and after you're happy and enjoying yourself, then move into those other things to make you a better player in general.

PSN: mxmarks - WiiU: mxmarks - twitter: @ MikesPS4 - twitch.tv/mxmarks - "Yes, mxmarks is the King of Queens" - Unbreakable Vow
  • Options
    the Togfatherthe Togfather Registered User regular