Options

You'll never guess what happened at my [Job] thread today...

• Options
    rhylithrhylith Death Rabbits HoustonRegistered User regular
    Depends on your degree. What field are you in?

• Options
    bowenbowen How you doin'? Registered User regular
    schuss wrote: »
    Brainleech wrote: »
    Al_wat wrote: »
    You're selling yourself short if you think a biochem degree isnt an asset

I feel it is since I get turned down a lot since I have no experience using it or in a job that uses it
    I really was told this by a pharmaceutical manufacturer here. The interviewer said it was very disappointing that I have no experience even though I have the degree.
    They said it would be ideal if I had at least 2 years of working in a field that used it
    So I went off looking for a job and failed since a lot of those companies and the university were either closing down programs or packing up and moving since then.

Is it incredibly useful for biochem jobs? Probably not, as most are looking for masters/PhD's. Is it useful for other jobs? Absolutely. Having a degree is important to getting your foot in the door of most corporate environments in a professional capacity. What the degree in matters a lot less unless you're going after a developer, engineering or accounting job (as there are certs and skills unique to each that require specific degrees). For white-collar work, we just see that you have a degree, and what it's in only matters a tiny bit, as most training will be job-specific. I recommend looking for entry-level business analyst jobs, as it's a job family that encompasses a lot of things and has a lot of options to it.

To expand upon what schuss is saying. In this day and age when you have a degree it says this, "I am an adult and am capable of finishing what I set out to do."

Use this. Start looking for any office job. Have you considered getting an internship at these pharmaceutical manufacturers?