As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

[Yakuza] & [Judgment] Thread. Yakuza 7 out and great. Now an RPG.

• Options
    vagrant_windsvagrant_winds Overworked Mysterious Eldritch Horror Hunter XX Registered User regular
    Oh hey a Yakuza thread, recently been looking at the series so this is handy.

I've never played any of the games so was looking to pick one up. Is it worth starting from the first? I imagine the gameplay of the latter games is better but story seems like a big deal.

I'm just getting into it myself, and I'm told that Yakuza Zero (out in January) is a good place to start, being a prequel and all.

I'm just hoping that between that and a localization of 6, they decide to do a remastered collection.

They did remasters of 1 & 2 on PS3 (and WiiU) already, but they were never localized. Funny enough the later released PS3 version sold pretty well but the WiiU release bombed like few things have bombed before.

They've (1 & 2 PS2) aged, but they're still fun. Yakuza 2 is still a fantastic game especially.

// Steam: VWinds // PSN: vagrant_winds //
    // Switch: SW-5306-0651-6424 //
  • Options
    manwiththemachinegunmanwiththemachinegun METAL GEAR?! Registered User regular

I've never played any of the games so was looking to pick one up. Is it worth starting from the first? I imagine the gameplay of the latter games is better but story seems like a big deal.

It's probably worth starting with the PS2 games. It's cool to see the gameplay iterations, but you'll miss a lot of the connection to the characters without spending some time getting to know them in earlier installments.

• Options
    vagrant_windsvagrant_winds Overworked Mysterious Eldritch Horror Hunter XX Registered User regular