Can't use bold/italics/strikethrough

bowenbowen How you doin'?Registered User regular
Shortcut keys and the UI clicking don't seem to be working for these.

I can still use all the tools normally through BBCode.

not a doctor, not a lawyer, examples I use may not be fully researched so don't take out of context plz, don't @ me
KalnaurLostNinjaDoctorArchHakkekageJazzGvzbgulLiiyaknitdancB557chiasaur11joshofalltradesNightDragonseasleepyNeveron
«1

Posts

  • crimsoncoyotecrimsoncoyote Registered User regular
    Seems to be working fine for me.

    Win 8.1, with Chrome 43.0.2357.81 m

  • bowenbowen How you doin'? Registered User regular
    No good for me still, did a whole reboot.

    Windows 10 w/ chrome 43.0.2357.124 m

    not a doctor, not a lawyer, examples I use may not be fully researched so don't take out of context plz, don't @ me
  • DoctorArchDoctorArch Curmudgeon Registered User regular
    I'm having the same problem as well. Reactions work fine, other elements of the UI (bold/paragraph formatting/etc.) do not respond to clicks.

    Windows 7. Chrome Version 44.0.2403.30 beta-m (64-bit).

    Switch Friend Code: SW-6732-9515-9697
    bowenHakkekagecB557
  • HakkekageHakkekage Space Whore Academy summa cum laudeRegistered User regular
    I ran into a 503 error earlier today and the buttons have not been working since (they were working earlier this morning)

    3DS: 2165 - 6538 - 3417
    NNID: Hakkekage
    bowenBouwsT
  • HakkekageHakkekage Space Whore Academy summa cum laudeRegistered User regular
    However, they appear to be working on mobile

    3DS: 2165 - 6538 - 3417
    NNID: Hakkekage
  • BouwsTBouwsT Wanna come to a super soft birthday party? Registered User regular
    edited June 2015
    I will mirror Hakkekage, got a 503 error, haven't been able to use any of that tool banner since. Using Windows 7, Firefox ver. 38.0.5

    Edit: I hadn't thought anything of that 503 error, so thanks for bringing that up!

    BouwsT on
    I shall be telling this with a sigh
    Somewhere ages and ages hence:
    Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
    I took the one less traveled by,
    And that has made all the difference.
  • JazzJazz Fuck cancer. Un-UKRegistered User regular
    Same problem. Reactions work, but bold/italic/strikethrough/quotes/spoilers/links/images etc... none of those are responding, so can't upload images into posts. Manually typing BBcode still works. Signed in and out a couple of times, once with a browser close and re-open in between, with no luck.

    Windows 7, Firefox 38.0.5

  • KalnaurKalnaur I See Heat Waves . . . Centralia, WARegistered User regular
    Reactions work, none of the WYSIWYG elements of the response box do. But the code still works.

    Windows 8.1, Firefox 38.0.5

    I make art things! deviantART: Kalnaur ::: Origin: Kalnaur ::: UPlay: Kalnaur
    steam_sig.png

  • LostNinjaLostNinja Registered User regular
    Jazz wrote: »
    Same problem. Reactions work, but bold/italic/strikethrough/quotes/spoilers/links/images etc... none of those are responding, so can't upload images into posts. Manually typing BBcode still works. Signed in and out a couple of times, once with a browser close and re-open in between, with no luck.

    Windows 7, Firefox 38.0.5

    Same here, on an iPad, latest IOS using Safari

  • ASimPersonASimPerson And they will tremble again at the sound of our silence.Registered User regular
    I'm seeing this on one of my machines but not the other. Same browser, though one is Windows and the other OS X, but that doesn't seem to matter. Tried clearing the cache on the affected machine to no avail. My Greasemonkey scripts are also broken, though that could be unrelated. Reactions still work.

    redoctober2.png
    SE++ Forum Battle Archive | PDT is not PST | DRUNKSTUCK: A Homestuck recap
  • TofystedethTofystedeth veni, veneri, vamoosi Registered User regular
    Same here. Windows 7 with latest FireFox on both my home and work machine. Reactions work. WYSIWYG buttons do not.

    steam_sig.png
  • zerzhulzerzhul Registered User, Moderator mod
    I also have this issue, both on Windows 8.1 using chrome and windows server 2008r2 using chrome.

  • joshofalltradesjoshofalltrades Class Traitor Smoke-filled roomRegistered User regular
    Hakkekage wrote: »
    However, they appear to be working on mobile

    Not on my iPhone 5. The buttons do nothing.

  • TofystedethTofystedeth veni, veneri, vamoosi Registered User regular
    edited June 2015
    Hakkekage wrote: »
    However, they appear to be working on mobile

    Not on my iPhone 5. Ze buttons, zey do nothing.

    edit: Works in Chrome on my Galaxy S6.

    Tofystedeth on
    steam_sig.png
  • DoctorArchDoctorArch Curmudgeon Registered User regular
    I can confirm the UI works on the mobile site using Chrome Beta on Android 5.01

    Switch Friend Code: SW-6732-9515-9697
  • TubeTube Administrator, ClubPA admin
    I'm not able to replicate this one, I'll see what's going on with Vanilla

    Hobnail wrote: »
    This forum has taken everything from me
    This hurts but I deserve it

  • TubeTube Administrator, ClubPA admin
    How many of the users seeing this issue are running any kind of weird shit?

    Hobnail wrote: »
    This forum has taken everything from me
    This hurts but I deserve it

  • Munkus BeaverMunkus Beaver Registered User, ClubPA regular
    It just suddenly started happening in Firefox, not running any sort of mods or addons.

    Twitch Channel
    Steam: munkus_beaver
    Humor can be dissected, as a frog can, but it dies in the process.
    http://www.ccfa.org/
  • bowenbowen How you doin'? Registered User regular
    I've disabled all my extensions and it still happens.

    not a doctor, not a lawyer, examples I use may not be fully researched so don't take out of context plz, don't @ me
    DoctorArch
  • IrukaIruka Registered User, Moderator mod
    If you guys could, open up your console and check for javascript errors.

  • TofystedethTofystedeth veni, veneri, vamoosi Registered User regular
    Hmm, at work I run no addons, but we do have a websense proxy which sometimes causes weirdness.
    At home I run adblock, but have PA and related subdomains whitelisted. When I get home I'll check and see if vanillaforums is whitelisted as well.
    I know in the past I've had issues with some things at work that were coming through from Vanilla's CDN getting blocked while the forums themselves worked.

    steam_sig.png
  • bowenbowen How you doin'? Registered User regular
    Line 1755 in editor.js is throwing a "ButtonBar" not defined:
    ButtonBar.AttachTo($($currentEditableTextarea)[0], formatOriginal);
    

    not a doctor, not a lawyer, examples I use may not be fully researched so don't take out of context plz, don't @ me
  • joshofalltradesjoshofalltrades Class Traitor Smoke-filled roomRegistered User regular
    I have all of the following:
    Using //@ to indicate sourceMappingURL pragmas is deprecated. Use //# instead jquery.min.js:1:0
    ReferenceError: c is not defined prettify.js:286:8
    ReferenceError: prettyPrint is not defined cant-use-bold-italics-strikethrough:73:9
    Use of getPreventDefault() is deprecated.  Use defaultPrevented instead. jquery.min.js:5:0
    ReferenceError: ButtonBar is not defined
    

    bowen
  • bowenbowen How you doin'? Registered User regular
    I'm not sure if it's just me doing something wrong, but even if I pop in a breakpoint in buttonbarplus.js it never quite reaches line 233 where ButtonBar is defined.

    not a doctor, not a lawyer, examples I use may not be fully researched so don't take out of context plz, don't @ me
  • joshofalltradesjoshofalltrades Class Traitor Smoke-filled roomRegistered User regular
    edited June 2015
    For reference I am running Adblock Plus in the newest build of Firefox but that isn't new and hasn't been a problem in the past.

    And I'm just running default Safari on my iPhone 5, and still can't use the buttons there.

    joshofalltrades on
  • NightDragonNightDragon 6th Grade Username Registered User regular
    Happening to me as well...just started yesterday. Windows 7 and Chrome - on both my work and home computers. I've only got AdBlockPlus installed on both - I just tried disabling and reloading the page - still nothing.

  • RainfallRainfall Registered User regular
    Buttons are not working on my Galaxy S5 Chrome 43.0.2357.92
    Not working on my Tab S, either.

  • DoctorArchDoctorArch Curmudgeon Registered User regular
    I opened up an incognito window with all of my extensions disabled, logged in to the forums, and tried the UI. No dice.

    Windows 7, Chrome Version 44.0.2403.30 beta-m (64-bit).

    Switch Friend Code: SW-6732-9515-9697
  • Warlock82Warlock82 Never pet a burning dog Registered User regular
    edited June 2015
    I'm having the same problem with Chrome 43.0.2357.92 on my HTC One m8 phone.

    Warlock82 on
    Switch: 2143-7130-1359 | 3DS: 4983-4927-6699 | Steam: warlock82 | PSN: Warlock2282
  • HakkekageHakkekage Space Whore Academy summa cum laudeRegistered User regular
    Hakkekage wrote: »
    However, they appear to be working on mobile

    Not on my iPhone 5. The buttons do nothing.

    That was yesterday. I'm on iPhone 6 using chrome. Buttons have stopped working here now too.

    3DS: 2165 - 6538 - 3417
    NNID: Hakkekage
  • IrukaIruka Registered User, Moderator mod
    The issue should have been patched, near 11:50ish. Clear your cache. If you can, grab errors from the console.

  • bowenbowen How you doin'? Registered User regular
    I am still getting it.

    Completely cleared and logged out and back in. Disabled all addons, also used incognito, and loaded up firefox and IE just in case and it still happens there.

    Same issue with ButtonBar not being defined.

    not a doctor, not a lawyer, examples I use may not be fully researched so don't take out of context plz, don't @ me
  • bowenbowen How you doin'? Registered User regular
    What's the likelihood this might be a CDN/Network issue? It seemed to originate around the varnish cache/503 errors from yesterday.

    not a doctor, not a lawyer, examples I use may not be fully researched so don't take out of context plz, don't @ me
  • bowenbowen How you doin'? Registered User regular
    edited June 2015
    prettify.js?v=1.2:286 Uncaught ReferenceError: c is not defined(anonymous function) 
    	@ prettify.js?v=1.2:286(anonymous function) 
    	@ prettify.js?v=1.2:402(anonymous function) 
    	@ prettify.js?v=1.2:403
    howto-chat:72 Uncaught ReferenceError: prettyPrint is not defined(anonymous function) 
    	@ howto-chat:72x.Callbacks.c 
    	@ jquery.min.js:4x.Callbacks.p.fireWith 
    	@ jquery.min.js:4x.extend.ready 
    	@ jquery.min.js:4q 
    	@ jquery.min.js:4
    editor.js?v=1.7.2:1755 Uncaught ReferenceError: ButtonBar is not defined(anonymous function) 
    	@ editor.js?v=1.7.2:1755x.Callbacks.c 
    	@ jquery.min.js:4x.Callbacks.p.fireWith 
    	@ jquery.min.js:4x.extend.when.a 
    	@ jquery.min.js:4x.Callbacks.c 
    	@ jquery.min.js:4x.Callbacks.p.fireWith 
    	@ jquery.min.js:4x.extend.Deferred.x.each.i.(anonymous function) 
    	@ jquery.min.js:4$.fn.setAsEditor.script.onload.script.onreadystatechange 
    	@ editor.js?v=1.7.2:633
    

    That's a lot of calls to jquery and a lot are pretty similar, might be an issue with the version of jquery installed?

    bowen on
    not a doctor, not a lawyer, examples I use may not be fully researched so don't take out of context plz, don't @ me
  • joshofalltradesjoshofalltrades Class Traitor Smoke-filled roomRegistered User regular
    Cleared everything out, still getting problems. My console printout is the same as above.

  • IrukaIruka Registered User, Moderator mod
    And again?

  • bowenbowen How you doin'? Registered User regular
    That did it!

    not a doctor, not a lawyer, examples I use may not be fully researched so don't take out of context plz, don't @ me
    joshofalltradesHakkekage
  • joshofalltradesjoshofalltrades Class Traitor Smoke-filled roomRegistered User regular
    edited June 2015
    Problem solved here! Thanks for all your hard work.

    joshofalltrades on
    bowenHakkekageNeveronNightDragon
  • Munkus BeaverMunkus Beaver Registered User, ClubPA regular
    Fixed on firefox.

    Twitch Channel
    Steam: munkus_beaver
    Humor can be dissected, as a frog can, but it dies in the process.
    http://www.ccfa.org/
  • TofystedethTofystedeth veni, veneri, vamoosi Registered User regular
    Confirmed working for me now too.

    steam_sig.png
This discussion has been closed.