As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

[Game Dev] I don't have a publisher. What I do have are a very particular set of skills.

1868788899092»

• Options
    KamarKamar Registered User regular
    edited March 17
    I figure that's mostly just about venting and not looking for advice or feedback per se, but it pokes a few pain points for me so...

A lot of this is going to be about writing because I'm a writer first and foremost.

I think it's important to be skeptical of anyone who claims they know the one true way to succeed in or undertake creative endeavors, no matter how successful they are or convincing they sound. There are a zillion ways to tackle the creative process and they all work for someone.

Stephen King is skilled, but he has a very narrow idea about how to create. The one that always comes to mind is that he says that you can't plot a book in advance without killing it. He writes unplanned until he runs dry and then ends a book. And, like, it's obvious from his endings. He's a discovery writer who falls into discovery writer pitfalls and says there's no other way to write. But there are just as many successful outliners out there as there are discovery writers, who deliver explosive endings but maybe if they're not careful make things feel a bit stodgy and overly structured.