Options

It's official - SPORE - Sept. 7, 2008

• Options
    RankenphileRankenphile Passersby were amazed by the unusually large amounts of blood.Registered User, Moderator Mod Emeritus
    edited February 2008
    To: Toyota
    Re: Marketing.

Dear Toyota,

I am writing for a job in your marketing department, and I hope that you will take a moment to review my attached resume. I have been selling used cars for the past fifteen years, and over that time I have discovered a few tried and true selling techniques for reaching certain demographics.

I hope that I am not out of line by speaking my mind here, but let me be frank. Automotive technology has reached the point where - at the consumer level - it doesn't matter what's under the hood anymore. All that today's consumer cares about, functionality wise, is that it gets them from point a to point b. Aside from that, they want a car that's individual. Look at the new models of cars you've been shipping out recently. The Matrix and The Prius are idiotic looking, but people are buying them to have a car that they feel is distinct.

People want to believe that their car is special, individual. When I was working the lot at the used car place, we used to keep a car out back and we would shove dead pigeons under the hood. Dead pigeons, man. That car was waiting for the perfect customer, a little old lady with a wicker purse. We convinced her the car ate pigeons. She was thrilled. We sold haunted cars, cursed cars. We sold cars that made you lucky in love. We sold cars that famous people had spat on.