As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Melodramatic Games

walnutmonwalnutmon Registered User regular
edited April 2008 in Games and Technology
I just started playing Ace Combat: Fires of liberation and it's just starting to get to me that it seems like tons of games these days have become soft pansy fests of emotional crap. It's not like I can't take a good story, with quality characters and a wide range of emotion, but Ace Combat feels so forced that I sit there, listening to this wimpy blonde chicks inner monologues about her daughter and her stupid dead husband who painted her stupid name on his stupid plane before getting shot down, and I just sit there wishing it would end. I want to play the enemy, and drop bombs on her and her stupid daughter.

Go play with the angels.

Another game that struck me as just overly dramatic recently was Eternal Sonata. The game was beautiful and I couldn't wait to get into it... but after the first 30 minutes of wishy washy bullshit, I just couldn't justify spending any more time on it.... luckily it was a gamefly rental, so I didn't waste any money on it.

I don't want to sound like an over-testosterone driven buffoon, but can I play a game that gets me psyched up anymore without goofy stories about boring shit that noone cares about. I liked SOTC, I like FF7, I like sad movies and shit, but if you don't have the writing talent to pull off a emotional story, don't try, and just let me fire missles at terrorists that are developing super weapons to destroy the world. Please.

Fuck Gracemaria.

Anyone else feel the way I do? Or am I just a miserable fuck?

xbox: jmbizzo | ps3: walnutmon | steam: walnutmon | SC2: walnutmon.591
walnutmon on

• Options
    LunysgwenLunysgwen Registered User regular
    edited March 2008