As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

The Problem with the Ontological Argument for the Existence of God

• PodlyPodly you unzipped me! it's all coming back! i don't like it!Registered User regular
    edited April 2009
    Kagera wrote: »
    Podly wrote: »
    Perfection is the complete actualization of possibility. A "perfect" golf score would be 18: every hole would be a hole in one.

I'm no expert but I don't think that's how golf scoring works.

Because golf courses are designed so that every hole is not a hole in one. A perfect score, however, would be an 18. Some superhuman being who could drive a ball 500 yards could conceivably get an 18.

Podly on
    follow my music twitter soundcloud tumblr
    9pr1GIh.jpg?1
  • PodlyPodly you unzipped me! it's all coming back! i don't like it!Registered User regular
    edited April 2009
    Okay, so our existence is complete by virtue of its being. Hurrah.

I still don't see why this has anything to do with "God" as the concept is applied in the vast majority of the world.

Actually, it has nothing to do with theism. The problem is, rather, for the atheist to deal with the concept of existence as absolute presence. Existence is, in a sense, perfection. If existence is what sustains beings, then existence functions in the way that God has for human society. This is what Heidegger (an atheist) called the Onto-Theo-Logical Constitution of Metaphysics.

Podly on
    9pr1GIh.jpg?1
  • BloodySlothBloodySloth Registered User regular
    edited April 2009

I still don't see why this has anything to do with "God" as the concept is applied in the vast majority of the world.