As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

[Nintendo 3DS] THIS THREAD IS DEAD, POST IN THE NEW ONE!

• Options
    StormwatcherStormwatcher Blegh BlughRegistered User regular
    I'm a professional game localizer
    Worked on a few small projects such as Max Payne 3, World of Warcraft, Starcraft II and Diablo III plus a billion mobile games

Guess what, regional locking has zero influence in our trade

We get far more work from platforms that were never (and will never be) locked like PC and Smartphones than consoles.

And in the console space, if your game is not localized already (i.e. all in japanese), then the lost sales are negligible, only a tiny amount of people are able to play the game anyway. If it includes English even in the JP release, then, well, someone already got paid.

This whole localization thing is just lame excuses. And I speak as someone who makes a living from it.

Steam: Stormwatcher | PSN: Stormwatcher33 | Switch: 5961-4777-3491
    camo_sig2.png
  • Options
    SleeperHoldSleeperHold Registered User regular
    Just bought a 2D, I miss Mario Kart on the train and didn't want to spend the money of a 3DS. Good trade off I think, for not being able to fold... I never play in 3D.

• Options
    UncleSporkyUncleSporky Registered User regular
    edited October 2015
    And in the console space, if your game is not localized already (i.e. all in japanese), then the lost sales are negligible, only a tiny amount of people are able to play the game anyway.

You're saying region locks affect very few people?

This whole localization thing is just lame excuses.

I don't see an alternate explanation being offered other than "oh it's a fuck you," which is simply laughable.

UncleSporky on