Hello, you may now embed "gifv" simply by pasting the link (same as youtube). Enjoy!
Our new Indie Games subforum is now open for business in G&T. Go and check it out, you might land a code for a free game. If you're developing an indie game and want to post about it, follow these directions. If you don't, he'll break your legs! Hahaha! Seriously though.
Our rules have been updated and given their own forum. Go and look at them! They are nice, and there may be new ones that you didn't know about! Hooray for rules! Hooray for The System! Hooray for Conforming!

[Chaos] CitOW game 28 - Newbies and host-training

145679

Posts

  • SticksSticks Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    Play Perverse Infiltration to the Badlands.

    7/9

  • stever777stever777 AFK most Saturdays Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    Man you guys play differently than my group.
    Card ?
    If I play a card in The Border Princes, with Changer in there, that occurs now, will it still work?
    Obviously, a Battle Cry wouldn't but I have others...

  • SpawnbrokerSpawnbroker Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    Cards with immediate effects will work, but cards that have a continuous effect or an effect that happens later in the round will not work.

    The only Khorne card that would work would be The Blood God's Call.

    Battle.net: Spawnbroker#1471
    FF XIV: Ibrahim Moizoos
  • stever777stever777 AFK most Saturdays Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    You nailed it!
    Thanks.
    Never seen Changer played as a first card.

  • jscivjsciv Registered User
    edited December 2010
    Are you sure about that? I don't think it would.

  • stever777stever777 AFK most Saturdays Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    Q: Can the Tzeentch card Changer
    of Ways cancel effects that
    have already been resolved?
    A: No. The Changer of Ways Chaos Card effectively
    cancels the text on the other cards in the same region. If
    the effect generated by a card would be resolved later in
    the round, it would be nullified by the Changer of Ways
    card. If the effect has already been resolved, the Changer
    of Ways card does not “undo” another card’s effects.

    Not quite sure.

  • stever777stever777 AFK most Saturdays Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    Q: Changer of Ways states it cancels
    the text effect of all other Chaos
    cards in the same region. Are effects
    such as Sopoforic Musk and Warp
    Shield resolved when their respective
    cards are played, or are they ongoing
    (and therefore cancellable) effects?
    A: Changer of Ways does not undo any card effect that
    is triggered or resolved before the placement of Changer
    of Ways. For example, if Warp Shield is placed before
    Changer of Ways, the figure to protect (and the associated
    protection) has already been selected; Changer of
    Ways does not undo or stop that. Likewise, if Soporific
    Musk is placed before Changer of Ways, the figure to
    take control of has already been selected and control
    taken; Changer of Ways does not undo or stop that.

    Still not sure.

  • SpawnbrokerSpawnbroker Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    There are certain cards that have IMMEDIATE effects, such as Warp Shield (placing a shield on an acolyte that prevents it from dying to combat) and Perverse Infiltration.

    If a card that would have a non-immediate effect goes into that slot, it will get cancelled. Immediate effects are things that say "When this card is played in this region, do X"

    A card that is not immediate will say something like "This region's resistance is lowered by two." That's ongoing, and not a one time action. It would get cancelled.

    Changer of Ways can be played proactively to lock down a region and prevent any disrupting cards played there. It doesn't cancel cards that already exist in the region, but all other Chaos cards in the same region, whether or not they were in the region before or after Change of Ways has been played.

    Battle.net: Spawnbroker#1471
    FF XIV: Ibrahim Moizoos
  • SpawnbrokerSpawnbroker Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    The way I've always thought of it is like this: Regardless of if Changer of Ways is played first or second, it will only cancel ongoing effects, or things that happen later in the round. It will never cancel immediate, one time actions.

    Battle.net: Spawnbroker#1471
    FF XIV: Ibrahim Moizoos
  • DarianDarian Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    That's not how it works...

    If Changer is played first, anything you put into the second slot is blank, worth only the power cost toward domination.

    It's only when the Changer is played second that the instant v. ongoing effect is seen.

  • DarianDarian Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    Round 5, Summoning phase

    Warpstone Discovery (draw a card if present with a Warpstone) will apparently never go away
    citowg28r52.gif

    Spell effects:
    Spoiler:

    Khorne is active

  • jscivjsciv Registered User
    edited December 2010
    Darian wrote: »
    That's not how it works...

    If Changer is played first, anything you put into the second slot is blank, worth only the power cost toward domination.

    It's only when the Changer is played second that the instant v. ongoing effect is seen.

    Yeah, that's my understanding as well.

  • SticksSticks Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    Brother Tzeentch appears to have the resources to ruin any single region (sans battle cry) this turn. That is disconcerting.

  • SpawnbrokerSpawnbroker Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    I never knew that about Changer of Ways. Huh. The More You Know :whistle:

    Battle.net: Spawnbroker#1471
    FF XIV: Ibrahim Moizoos
  • stever777stever777 AFK most Saturdays Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    OK then.
    Makes sense to me.
    I was kinda leaning that way as I thought about it, even though I wanted to play a card there.
    Nice play Tzeentch!
    Now, what to do...

  • stever777stever777 AFK most Saturdays Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    Summon Bloodthirster from Norsca to The Border Princes. 2/8 PP.

  • jscivjsciv Registered User
    edited December 2010
    Summon a Leper from Kislev to The Empire. 2/6 pp remain.

  • SpawnbrokerSpawnbroker Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    Summon an acolyte from reserves to The Badlands, 7/8 PP.

    What is it, lunch hour? :P

    Battle.net: Spawnbroker#1471
    FF XIV: Ibrahim Moizoos
  • SticksSticks Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    Play Perverse Infiltration to The Badlands.

    7/9.

  • stever777stever777 AFK most Saturdays Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    Once again, I can't stop Tzeentch alone.
    Too much power.

  • DarianDarian Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    Round 5, Summoning phase

    Warpstone Discovery (draw a card if present with a Warpstone) will apparently never go away
    citowg28r53.gif

    Spell effects:
    Spoiler:

    Khorne is active

  • stever777stever777 AFK most Saturdays Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    Summon Warrior from Reserves to The Badlands. 0/8 PP. Rest.

    That may be all, folks.

  • jscivjsciv Registered User
    edited December 2010
    Summon a Leper from Kislev to The Empire. 1/6 pp remain.

  • SpawnbrokerSpawnbroker Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    Summon an acolyte from reserves to Estalia, 6/8 PP.

    Battle.net: Spawnbroker#1471
    FF XIV: Ibrahim Moizoos
  • SticksSticks Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    I wonder brother. Where are you planning to drag all those warpstones?

    Play Perverse Infiltration to The Border Princes.

    7/9

  • jscivjsciv Registered User
    edited December 2010
    Summon a Leper from the reserves to The Empire. 0/6 pp remain.

    Time to pop some popcorn and watch the purple-green slap-fight!

  • SpawnbrokerSpawnbroker Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    Hmm, this is a tough decision...

    Summon an acolyte from Norsca to The Empire, bringing a warpstone. 5/8 PP.

    Battle.net: Spawnbroker#1471
    FF XIV: Ibrahim Moizoos
  • DarianDarian Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    Round 5, Summoning phase

    Warpstone Discovery (draw a card if present with a Warpstone) will apparently never go away
    citowg28r54.gif

    Spell effects:
    Spoiler:

    Tzeentch is active

  • DarianDarian Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    Hmm, this is a tough decision...

    Summon an acolyte from Norsca to The Empire, bringing a warpstone. 5/8 PP.

  • stever777stever777 AFK most Saturdays Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    jsciv wrote: »
    Time to pop some popcorn and watch the purple-green slap-fight!

    Now that's funny!

  • SticksSticks Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    Well played Tzeentch. You leave me with a gamble, no matter where I turn.

    Summon seductress from Norsca to the Empire

    6/9

  • DarianDarian Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    Round 5, Summoning phase

    Warpstone Discovery (draw a card if present with a Warpstone) will apparently never go away
    citowg28r55.gif

    Spell effects:
    Spoiler:

    Tzeentch is active

  • SpawnbrokerSpawnbroker Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    Sticks wrote: »
    Well played Tzeentch. You leave me with a gamble, no matter where I turn.

    That was the idea, unfortunately. I couldn't let you double tick or win this turn without risking everything.

    Summon an acolyte from Kislev to The Empire, bringing a warpstone. 4/8 PP.

    Battle.net: Spawnbroker#1471
    FF XIV: Ibrahim Moizoos
  • SticksSticks Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    Summon seductress from Norsca to the Empire.

    5/9.

  • SpawnbrokerSpawnbroker Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    Summon an acolyte from The Badlands to The Empire with a warpstone, 3/8 PP.

    Battle.net: Spawnbroker#1471
    FF XIV: Ibrahim Moizoos
  • SticksSticks Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    Summon seductress from Kislev to the Empire.

    4/9.


    I can't help but think I could have squeezed an extra 2VP out somewhere and prevented this whole mess.

  • SpawnbrokerSpawnbroker Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    Summon an acolyte from Tilea to The Empire with a warpstone. 2/8 PP.

    This game was definitely a weird one. For one thing, that Warpstone Discovery being in play the entire game definitely skewed the game towards Slaanesh. Slaanesh's cards are all REALLY good, excepting Perverse Infiltration, and you got 3 a turn, every turn. It really hindered my ability to delay as Tzeentch, and allowed you to pick up lots of VPs quickly.

    Battle.net: Spawnbroker#1471
    FF XIV: Ibrahim Moizoos
  • DarianDarian Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    Round 5, Summoning phase

    Warpstone Discovery (draw a card if present with a Warpstone) will apparently never go away
    citowg28r56.gif

    Spell effects:
    Spoiler:

    Slaanesh is active


    Note: If the holiday forums are activated before we finish, the game will be completed back on our proboards.

  • SticksSticks Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    Summon seductress from Tilea to the Empire.

    3/9

  • SpawnbrokerSpawnbroker Registered User regular
    edited December 2010
    Summon acolyte from Estalia to The Empire, bringing a warpstone. 1/8 PP.

    Battle.net: Spawnbroker#1471
    FF XIV: Ibrahim Moizoos
Sign In or Register to comment.