Chaos in the Old World is a boardgame set in the Warhammer Fantasy universe. Players take on the role of one of the gods of Chaos, seeking to corrupt the land and remake it in their own image. It plays best with exactly four players and offers is an interesting twist on area control games - each god has slightly different forces, their own thematic deck of Chaos cards to cast, and a victory track (dial) that marks progress befitting that god's priorities. The game can be won either by VP accumulation or by completing your dial.
Khorne - the Blood god
- murder, maim, kill. Tends to win by dial victory, and earns advances by killing enemy figures. Straightforward to play, but must keep a close watch on everything that is happening to extend the game long enough to achieve victory (he needs nine dial ticks, so he has to double tick multiple times and prevent others from winning by VP before he gets there).
Nurgle - the Lord of Pestilence
- spreading filth and disease among the cities and towns. Longest dial track, making a dial victory difficult, if not impossible. But Nurgle can benefit from others' ruinations and can shoot up the VP track in the mid-to-late game. Never out of contention.
Tzeentch - the Changer of Ways
- making plans and reshaping reality to suit himself. Tzeentch is the most reliant of all the gods on his Chaos cards; his are cheaper and he gets to draw more of them than anyone else. Depending on the Old World deck, he can go for either a dial or VP victory, but he has to find Warpstones
and cast magic spells in order to prepare regions for ideal corruption.
Slaanesh - the Prince of Pleasure (and pain)
- seducing the nobility and heroes of the land, swaying them to his side. With the shortest dial track, Slaanesh can win without ever double-ticking, and by focusing on regions with nobles can build up VP quickly.
The Horned Rat - The Undying Schemer
- rising from under the ground with his skittering horde. Rather than seeking to corrupt the Old World, the Horned Rat instead strains to overrun it, with more figures than any other god and abilities that enhance their mobility.
Here's a quick summary of the gods' followers and their abilities:
Previous games, aka recommended reading before playing, are linked from the CF Boardgame Index
As has been requested, this thread can be used as a general sign-up list for future CitOW games (starting with my game 17). I'll keep lists in the second post of sign-ups. When you do sign up, please mention whether you have played in any of the previous games (vet) or not (noob). I think I can remember the hosts for myself.
Let's also use this thread for general discussion on Chaos in the Old World - rules questions, balance, complaining about the greenskins and electors that keep Khorne from winning, etc.
A new expansion brings with it new rules questions. As an aid to players and hosts, I offer you the following.
Darian's personal Unofficial FAQ for the Horned Rat (Now with some official rulings):
- Set up - how many Old World Cards should be used for a 3 player game including the Horned Rat? 4p? 5p?
[FAQ - 7 cards for 4 or 5 players, 8 for 3, regardless of the Horned Rat's presence.]
- Dial advancement counters for Tzeentch, and Slaanesh -- are these once per region per phase, or can Tzeentch and Slaanesh spread out their corruption placement across phases? Can Tzeentch or Slaanesh earn more than one DAC from a single region during a round (e.g. from Havoc in battle then from corruption placement)?
[FAQ states that Tzeentch can earn a DAC during the summoning phase.
My ruling: One DAC may be earned in a region per phase per player. I'm going to interpret this as meaning that the condition must be met entirely within a phase. This was partially clarified by the FAQ but still leaves a bit of interpretation needed.]
- Horned Rat's dial -- for Summon X, does the summoned figure need to be adjacent to your current figures?
[My ruling - Yes, it must be adjacent since it does not say "in any region".]
- Rampage -- Essentially, does this act like the battle phase in all ways, or is it simply a battle?
[FAQ - This is just a battle, not acting like the battle phase. Things that specify "battle phase" do not trigger from a [COLOR="Red"]Rampage[/COLOR] battle, but things like Vengeance (which only mentions battle dice) do.
Trigger: Vengeance, Bloodbath, Skulltaker, Bloodletters, Great Unclean One, Pleasure Shield, Strength in Numbers, Vermin Outbreak
Do not trigger: Choking Stench, Plaguebearers, Warpstorm, Havoc, Transmorgrify, Acolytes, Shroud of Secrets, Greenskins Invade, Electors Sue for Peace]
- Skulltaker followed by Rampage - can the killed units be summoned away from the region?
[FAQ - No; the figures cannot be removed before the card is discarded in the end phase.]
- Terror - can you choose to move only some cultists, leaving behind the cultists from another god?
[My ruling - Yes, you make the choice to move or not separately for each god. And all the ones you move must go to the same region.]
- Bloodletter upgrade - Is it limited to once per region, or does every figure killed grant VP?
[FAQ - Each figure killed is worth 2 VP.]
- Bloodthirster upgrade - Does this summoning get around the adjacency requirement? Do Warpstones count as corruption when determining whether a region is a valid target?
[FAQ - No. It changes the cost if the destination region matches the requirement, but it is missing the "any region" key phrase that usually indicates teleportation effects.
My ruling - No. Warpstones are considered as corruption only when checking for Ruination, not at other times.]
- Does corruption placed by Filth or Blue Scribes grant a DAC? (For Filth, of course, it would take 2 of them in the same region)
[FAQ - Yes; move, place, same thing. As an errata, they changed Filth to be two separate events-remove, then place.]
- Do Quicken Decay and Festival of Sinew trigger on figures that are moved by other effects? What if their own figures are moved out by an opponent (e.g., by Terror)?
[FAQ - Bolt of Change using a new key word "replace" which does not trigger Quicken or Festival.
My ruling - Yes; move, summon, place, same thing. And it looks for the source of the movement, not the owner of the figure.]
- Can Convocation pull figures from more than one region?
[FAQ - They must come from the same region.]
- How many corruption tokens will each warrior or greater daemon place if two Havoc cards are in the same region?
[My ruling - Havoc is a replacement effect--instead of rolling battle dice, the warriors place one corruption. I can see this one argued either way:
A. when the second Havoc resolves, they are no longer rolling battle dice, so it has no effect.
B. Havoc stops them from rolling battle dice then has them place a corruption; they would place one corruption for each Havoc card in the region.
I will go with interpretation A, so they will only place one corruption each.]
- Warp Portal with an upgraded Horror -- is the newly placed Horror a valid target for the Portal's teleportation?
[FAQ - No, the new horror is not placed until the card has been resolved.]
- Acolytes upgrade -- after you cancel a hit, can the opponent still kill your acolyte by applying their next hit to it? Can another opponent kill the acolyte with their hits?
[FAQ - This upgrade triggers after all powers assign their hits for the region, but before killed figures are removed.]
- Lord of Change upgrade -- if it is moved by Warp Portal, can it place a Warpstone? What if it is moved by Lambs to the Slaughter?
[FAQ - Only triggers if Tzeentch does the summoning. Warp Portal, yes, Lambs to the Slaughter, no.]
- Shroud of Secrets -- if a player does not have enough hits left to kill an opponent's figure, can they apply the remaining hits to Slaanesh's? (e.g., if a Rat Ogre is present with some Seductresses and no Peasants, and Khorne only rolls one hit, can he target the Seductress or must he waste the hit?)
[My ruling - No; the Slaanesh figures are not legal targets while anything else is alive.]
- Daemonette upgrade -- if the Daemonette dies or is summoned away from the region, does the cultist remain under Slaanesh's control?
[My ruling - Since they didn't specify, as they did for the KoS in the base set, I'm going to guess they intended the control to persist, regardless, so I'll rule yes. This also implies that Slaanesh can summon the cultist away without losing control, just as with Soporific Musk in the base game.]
- Can Slaanesh take advantage of the Leper upgrade if his Daemonette upgrade gives him control of one?
[My ruling - Yes. You in the Leper upgrade refers to the controller of the Leper, not just to Nurgle.]
- What happens when Slaanesh takes control of a follower of the Horned Rat?
[My ruling - A Slaanesh-controlled rat places no corruption, counts as participation for ruination, and counts as its PP cost in corruption when scoring 1st and 2nd ruination.]
- Grey Seer with the Clan Rat upgrade - How many rats are summoned?
[FAQ - The upgrade gives one additional rat when you summon to a region with no rats present, so the Grey Seer will summon 3 rats instead of 2.]
- Strength in Numbers and Verminous Horde -- what is the trigger condition for these? Are they the same, or is there a difference between them?
[FAQ - The same; the Horned Rat must have more figures than at least one opponent who is present in the region.
My ruling - Following this to its logical conclusion, the cards will give no effect if only the horned rat is in the region. That seems odd to me, so as a house rule it will also trigger if only the rat has figures present.]
- The Under Empire -- are the figures moved before or after the ruination bonus VP are awarded for being present in the region? (Essentially, if HR moves all his figures out, does he still get the ruination bonus? I know he won't be eligible for 1st/2nd place if he uses this.)
Also, are regions with a Skaven token considered adjacent to all other regions, or just to other regions containing Skaven tokens?
[FAQ - Timing of this happens after the contributing bonus for presence, so that the same rat can take part in more than one ruination.
My ruling - Regions containing Skaven are adjacent to each other, not to all regions.]
- The Light of Day/High Elf Protection -- can players choose a ruined region, to avoid placing the token? If so, can more than one player choose the same ruined region? Essentially, I'm wondering whether you meant "In order of Threat level (highest first), each player places one Event token in a different region."
[FAQ - Ruined regions cannot be chosen for Old World card effects. Only if there is not valid region can the placement be avoided.]
- How do effects which grant additional dice or corruption interact with effects which limit or reduce? For example, if Choking Stench and another Nurgle card would reduce a bloodletter's dice to zero, will Vengeance still grant Khorne a battle die? If there is a single upgraded Leper in a region with Call to Arms! in play, does it place it's bonus corruption?
[FAQ - Old World effects are persistent and apply first; then, disabling effects are applied before enabling effects.
My ruling - "Additional" effects apply only if you would still have regular dice/corruption after all reductions. You can never have only the additional ones; in the examples above, Khorne would not roll any dice and Nurgle would not place any corruption.]
- Does Vermin Outbreak apply a cost to free summons from upgraded figures? Does it change the cost of figures summoned or moved by spells?
[My ruling - Free summons are affected; a cost of 0 is still a cost. Upgraded horrors would cost 1 PP in addition to the cost of the spell; the Bloodthirster could be summoned once at a cost of 1 PP.
Chaos card effects are noted as being immune to Vermin Outbreak, so summons from Convocation or Grey Seer would not be affected.]