As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

[Dark Souls] If only I could be so grossly incandescent (as Durante) - Res fix in OP

• ArthArth Registered User regular
    Arth wrote: »
    Soooooooooooo I just bought this for 360. Played through the opening area to the first real area of the game.

I don't want to say this game raped me per say. But I do feel like I should call the police on it and I can't sit down right now.

Is there some total newbie beginner guide to ease the pain? Or like... an ice pack or some shit? Because OW.

A few beginner tips:

1 - From the starting area, head upwards - the other two directions are not meant to be done until much later (although you might want to visit each briefly just to grab a few items).

2 - For the most part, you shouldn't try to multi-class. Pick an offense stat - Strength, Dexterity, Intelligence, or Faith - and stick with it (although you might need to put a few points into another stat for equipment or spell requirements) Vitality & Endurance are good for everyone. Resistance isn't too hot and is mostly just a stat you use if you've already maxed out everything else you care about.

3 - Pyromancy is good with anyone since it doesn't require stats to use. Also, the Pyromancer is generally the best starting class.

4 - The triangle button switches your stance to hold a weapon with both hands. It's more useful than it may see - it gives a 50% bonus to Strength and changes your move list. Some weapons like the Hand Axe, Mace, and Club have their guard-break stat increase in this mode as well.