Options

I have upgraded to Windows 11

ElaroElaro ApologeticRegistered User regular
So far, the only difference is the time font is slightly bigger, it runs slightly faster, and the taskbar thinks it's an Apple product. I have not tested any software except for browsers, which work slightly faster.

How has your Windows 11 treated you?

Children's rights are human rights.
«1

Posts

  • Options
    rhylithrhylith Death Rabbits HoustonRegistered User regular
    It has told me to buy a new processor if I want to install!

  • Options
    SniperGuySniperGuy SniperGuyGaming Registered User regular
    I built a computer in april of last year and it apparently can't do Windows 11 and I find this unacceptable.

  • Options
    3cl1ps33cl1ps3 I will build a labyrinth to house the cheese Registered User regular
    I will upgrade when I am forced to and not a moment sooner, the longer you give Windows to develop before you swap to it the better it always is.

  • Options
    rhylithrhylith Death Rabbits HoustonRegistered User regular
    I want a new pc because games are starting to run like shit on my old dinosaur and I’m processor limited at this point.

    But I know if I do I’m gonna have to pay out the butt.

    But I’m gonna do it soon probably.

  • Options
    TheStigTheStig Registered User regular
    Windows UI developers: *spends thousands of man hours trying to make a modern and user friendly UI*

    Me as soon as it finishes installing: "okay how do I make this look and function exactly like windows '98?"

    bnet: TheStig#1787 Steam: TheStig
  • Options
    Munkus BeaverMunkus Beaver You don't have to attend every argument you are invited to. Philosophy: Stoicism. Politics: Democratic SocialistRegistered User, ClubPA regular
    rhylith wrote: »
    I want a new pc because games are starting to run like shit on my old dinosaur and I’m processor limited at this point.

    But I know if I do I’m gonna have to pay out the butt.

    But I’m gonna do it soon probably.

    the one upside is that it's easier to buy a pre-fab computer nowadays than to get a GPU

    Humor can be dissected as a frog can, but dies in the process.
  • Options
    XaquinXaquin Right behind you!Registered User regular
    TheStig wrote: »
    Windows UI developers: *spends thousands of man hours trying to make a modern and user friendly UI*

    Me as soon as it finishes installing: "okay how do I make this look and function exactly like windows '98?"

    clamshell is my first DL every time I install windows.

  • Options
    jgeisjgeis Registered User regular
    edited October 2021
    I can't upgrade to Windows 11 until I enable fTPM in my motherboard's BIOS, which is a very easy thing to do but also enough of a hurdle that I'll probably put off upgrading until I absolutely have to.

    jgeis on
  • Options
    Raijin QuickfootRaijin Quickfoot I'm your Huckleberry YOU'RE NO DAISYRegistered User, ClubPA regular
    I think my Surface Pro is too old but I haven’t checked yet because I don’t really care either way

  • Options
    rhylithrhylith Death Rabbits HoustonRegistered User regular
    rhylith wrote: »
    I want a new pc because games are starting to run like shit on my old dinosaur and I’m processor limited at this point.

    But I know if I do I’m gonna have to pay out the butt.

    But I’m gonna do it soon probably.

    the one upside is that it's easier to buy a pre-fab computer nowadays than to get a GPU

    Yeah I’ll be going with a prebuilt machine for sure.

    I built the last one and while I’m happy with it the experience was super stressful and took hours so I’m gonna pay up instead.

  • Options
    H0b0manH0b0man Registered User regular
    Is there an option to put the taskbar back where it belongs?

    It's a really small thing, but images I've seen of 11 where it's in the middle of the screen bug the shit out of me.

    FFXIV: Agran Trask
  • Options
    NarbusNarbus Registered User regular
    edited October 2021
    H0b0man wrote: »
    Is there an option to put the taskbar back where it belongs?

    It's a really small thing, but images I've seen of 11 where it's in the middle of the screen bug the shit out of me.

    You can shift all the task icons to the left so the windows button is in the lower corner yeah. Annoyingly you can't move the actual bar, though. I like it vertical, alongside the left of the screen, and they took that away for... some reason, I suppose.

    Narbus on
  • Options
    XaquinXaquin Right behind you!Registered User regular
    Nothing says efficiency like randomly moving things away from where you're used to

    When I worked in a restaurant I'd move the chefs knives around every week! Not sure why they fired me. after all, he was the one yelling.

    Same with my office job. I moved the files around all over but people kept complaining 'that they couldn't find shit'. I wrote a note explaining my methods that they could have searched for!

  • Options
    Librarian's ghostLibrarian's ghost Librarian, Ghostbuster, and TimSpork Registered User regular
    The two super expensive VR laptops I got at school are telling me I can upgrade them to Windows 11. Any word on if that breaks the Microsoft VR or Steam VR?

    (Switch Friend Code) SW-4910-9735-6014(PSN) timspork (Steam) timspork (XBox) Timspork


  • Options
    AntoshkaAntoshka Miauen Oil Change LazarusRegistered User regular
    The two super expensive VR laptops I got at school are telling me I can upgrade them to Windows 11. Any word on if that breaks the Microsoft VR or Steam VR?

    Unsure on MS VR, but my friends are still happily running Steam VR. Only major issue I'm currently aware of is that for some of the more recent AMD Ryzen processors, performance is heavily impacted - though both MS / AMD are working on that issue.

    n57PM0C.jpg
  • Options
    Librarian's ghostLibrarian's ghost Librarian, Ghostbuster, and TimSpork Registered User regular
    Antoshka wrote: »
    The two super expensive VR laptops I got at school are telling me I can upgrade them to Windows 11. Any word on if that breaks the Microsoft VR or Steam VR?

    Unsure on MS VR, but my friends are still happily running Steam VR. Only major issue I'm currently aware of is that for some of the more recent AMD Ryzen processors, performance is heavily impacted - though both MS / AMD are working on that issue.

    These are Intel/Nvidia so I should be good there. Tempted to just try it out.

    (Switch Friend Code) SW-4910-9735-6014(PSN) timspork (Steam) timspork (XBox) Timspork


  • Options
    Bendery It Like BeckhamBendery It Like Beckham Hopeless Registered User regular
    can it run Doom?

  • Options
    jungleroomxjungleroomx It's never too many graves, it's always not enough shovels Registered User regular
    edited October 2021
    Windows 11 pros:

    HDR support is good
    Window arranging is good and gets saved
    Monitor placement is good and gets saved even if a screen goes out for a sec
    The softer UI elements are more refined than Win 10's dated Metro aesthetic

    Windows 11 cons:
    Why would you get rid of clocks on secondary screen taskbars?
    Why would you hide the main File Manager right click menu behind another mouse click?
    Why would you get rid of my taskbar right click you motherf

    jungleroomx on
  • Options
    KadithKadith Registered User regular
    rhylith wrote: »
    It has told me to buy a new processor if I want to install!

    I just found out this is true today and now i am unreasonably upset about something i couldn't give half a care for before.

    zkHcp.jpg
  • Options
    PlatyPlaty Registered User regular
    Did they finally change anything about the way the clipboard works

  • Options
    PeewiPeewi Registered User regular
    Platy wrote: »
    Did they finally change anything about the way the clipboard works

    Not that I've heard, but even on Win10 you can press win+V to open the clipboard with history.

  • Options
    PlatyPlaty Registered User regular
    Wwwwhhhaaaat

    Why did I never hear about this

  • Options
    PeewiPeewi Registered User regular
    Platy wrote: »
    Wwwwhhhaaaat

    Why did I never hear about this

    Because Windows itself does next to nothing to tell you about its hotkeys.

    Another one I think a lot of people don't know is win+. (period) for an emoji keyboard.

  • Options
    ElaroElaro Apologetic Registered User regular
    Peewi wrote: »
    Platy wrote: »
    Wwwwhhhaaaat

    Why did I never hear about this

    Because Windows itself does next to nothing to tell you about its hotkeys.

    Another one I think a lot of people don't know is win+. (period) for an emoji keyboard.

    🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

    Children's rights are human rights.
  • Options
    PlatyPlaty Registered User regular
    🌰

    Is there anything else we don't know about

  • Options
    useruser Registered User regular
    How many key presses to shut down from just the keyboard on Windows 11? I was slightly annoyed because they incremented the shut down going from 8.1 to 10. Rn its Winkey+X, U, U.

  • Options
    Goose!Goose! That's me, honey Show me the way home, honeyRegistered User regular
    I wish I had a different computer to try to upgrade because I am curious but not enough to throw it on my main computer yet.

  • Options
    jungleroomxjungleroomx It's never too many graves, it's always not enough shovels Registered User regular
    edited October 2021
    user wrote: »
    How many key presses to shut down from just the keyboard on Windows 11? I was slightly annoyed because they incremented the shut down going from 8.1 to 10. Rn its Winkey+X, U, U.

    Win-M, Alt-F4, Tab, Enter.

    Win-X menu is also still there.

    jungleroomx on
  • Options
    jungleroomxjungleroomx It's never too many graves, it's always not enough shovels Registered User regular
    Goose! wrote: »
    I wish I had a different computer to try to upgrade because I am curious but not enough to throw it on my main computer yet.

    I can't even say this is like going from Vista to 7. It's more like... putting a third party skin on top of Windows 10 that isn't garbage.

    It's pretty non-intrusive, except for those three sticking points I mentioned earlier, and you'll just be off to the races in no time.

  • Options
    BahamutZEROBahamutZERO Registered User, Moderator mod
    oh neat I didn't know about alt f4 on the desktop

    BahamutZERO.gif
  • Options
    Zilla360Zilla360 21st Century. |She/Her| Trans* Woman In Aviators Firing A Bazooka. ⚛️Registered User regular
    Is there still a bunch of extra clicks just to rename a file? It's shit like that that grinds my gears.
    Might as well just open Powershell and ignore the UI if MS are so intent on dumbing it down so much...

  • Options
    Librarian's ghostLibrarian's ghost Librarian, Ghostbuster, and TimSpork Registered User regular
    I can hit the power button on my tower and it starts the shutdown process.

    (Switch Friend Code) SW-4910-9735-6014(PSN) timspork (Steam) timspork (XBox) Timspork


  • Options
    jungleroomxjungleroomx It's never too many graves, it's always not enough shovels Registered User regular
    I can hit the power button on my tower and it starts the shutdown process.

    I have a macro set to win-space to put it to sleep and alt-win-space for shutdown, at least on my work PC.

    VIA keyboard software is the best and I need to get a new keyboard that uses it at home.

  • Options
    ChallChall Registered User regular
    So Windows says I can't upgrade my PC because it doesn't have TPM 2. I built this computer in 2019 so I'm seeing that I probably have it but I would need to enable it in my BIOS. Before I do that, do I want to? I know it's a security thing that's turned on in pre-built PCs but nothing really says what it does. Are there any drawbacks to enabling it?

  • Options
    BucketmanBucketman Call me SkraggRegistered User regular
    Is this like the bad Windows 8 upgrade where they tried to make it better for tablets?

    I think I'll see if my Laptop I bought in 2019 is good enough for this. Seems really weird they have such a weird/strict CPU limit on the OS

  • Options
    jungleroomxjungleroomx It's never too many graves, it's always not enough shovels Registered User regular
    edited October 2021
    Chall wrote: »
    So Windows says I can't upgrade my PC because it doesn't have TPM 2. I built this computer in 2019 so I'm seeing that I probably have it but I would need to enable it in my BIOS. Before I do that, do I want to? I know it's a security thing that's turned on in pre-built PCs but nothing really says what it does. Are there any drawbacks to enabling it?

    What it does is it’s a physical bit of hardware that carries out cryptographic instructions and stores your RSA private key. It's more secure than not having it, and there's no real drawback to enabling it.

    Do these checks:

    Open Disk Management, right click on the red box and select properties. Click the Volumes tab and see what the partition style is. If it's GPT (Guid Partition Table), you can go right into your BIOS and enable UEFI Boot instead of Legacy Boot. If it's an MBR (Master Boot Record) you need to convert it to GPT.

    o3dv5njdona0.png

    Open System Information, look for BIOS Mode on the right side. If it's UEFI, you're good. If it's Legacy, we need to switch it in BIOS.

    Changing to an enabled TPM won't really be much different than any other setting.

    jungleroomx on
  • Options
    ChallChall Registered User regular
    Thanks!

  • Options
    BeastehBeasteh THAT WOULD NOT KILL DRACULARegistered User regular
    i just spent 25 mins figuring out how to stop the xbox game bar auto pinning itself onto my taskbar every time i power on my computer

    (it involves editing registry files)

  • Options
    Kane Red RobeKane Red Robe Master of Magic ArcanusRegistered User regular
    Platy wrote: »
    🌰

    Is there anything else we don't know about

    Win+shift+S brings up screen snipping in case you work a job where you need to send those a lot. Win+L locks the computer. Those are my big windows key shortcuts.

  • Options
    DarmakDarmak RAGE vympyvvhyc vyctyvyRegistered User regular
    Wait, people shut down their computers? Mine only ever gets turned off if there's a power outage, and also that one time I took it to QuakeCon

    JtgVX0H.png
Sign In or Register to comment.