Options

Driving, speed limits, and new tech

• Options
    ronzoronzo Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    shryke wrote: »
    After driving a manual car for 15 years and now having to drive an automatic, let it be known that automatic transmission is utter shit. You have ZERO control with an auto.

Yeah man, I pressed the accelerator and the car went from 0 to 100 without any dicking around. WTF?!?! Where's the control?!?!?

Except the guy with the manual did it faster, without going into the red, and with less damage to transmission and engine.

Unless you have a really fancy auto transmissions

ronzo on
  • Options
    HamHamJHamHamJ Registered User regular
    edited June 2010
    geckahn wrote: »
    I am a significantly better driver with a manual. You actually need to pay attention to everything going around you, and you have much better maneuverability in traffic.

I'm with shryke. I'm not really sure what you are talking about with maneuverability. I want it to go faster, I press the gas and it goes faster. I want it to go slower, I step off the gas or brake and it goes slower.

I don't see how screwing around with gears and shit would help.

HamHamJ on
    While racing light mechs, your Urbanmech comes in second place, but only because it ran out of ammo.
  • Options
    ScalfinScalfin __BANNED USERS regular
    edited June 2010
    ronzo wrote: »
    After driving a manual car for 15 years and now having to drive an automatic, let it be known that automatic transmission is utter shit. You have ZERO control with an auto.

Yeah man, I pressed the accelerator and the car went from 0 to 100 without any dicking around. WTF?!?! Where's the control?!?!?

Except the guy with the manual did it faster, without going into the red, and with less damage to transmission and engine.

I'm still stuck at the stupidity of assuming that not liking something you're not used to means that the thing you're used to is better.

Scalfin on
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]