Options

The "What Are You Reading" Thread

• Options
    JacobkoshJacobkosh Gamble a stamp. I can show you how to be a real man!Moderator mod
    iowa wrote: »
    I have almost finished Frankenstein by Mary Shelly.

this is the saddest book i have ever read. I think the last time I cried after reading a book was Of Mice and Men when I was a freshman in high school.

I did not expect this. The pop culture portrayal of this work is completely irrevelent.

@JacobKosh several years ago I think 2010 I posted about Blood Meridian in one of these threads and you responded with a great post but I can not find it and it is frustrating me.

oh I think that was the review I wrote way back when. hold on, lemme go find it.
    This was one of those things where I'd heard about the book, in bits and pieces, for years: namechecked by William Gibson in Virtual Light and by Garth Ennis in Preacher, yapped about by online friends, and requested every so often by customers at the bookstore where I once worked. You know how this kind of thing goes: after a while, all these name-droppings have a cumulative impact, flipping a little switch in your brain one day and sending you off in search of the item in question. So that's how I came to Blood Meridian - knowing the book by its notorious reputation alone and little else. Having finally finished it, I can say that its notoriety is richly deserved, but that's hardly the whole story.