Options

Ultima: [chat] of the Avatar

• Options
    navgoosenavgoose Registered User regular
    You guys are confusing me. Which character was the white mage? Don't you have to fall for the white mage?

• Options
    Captain UltraCaptain Ultra low resolution pictures of birds Registered User regular
    kbcfj7scu1qv.png

I wanted to be real artsy and have a bunch of different fields of vision, but then realized I'm not good at drawing.

• Options
    RMS OceanicRMS Oceanic Registered User regular
  • Options
    PonyPony Registered User regular
    Mortious wrote: »
    Pony wrote: »
    I actually really hate the whole "protagonisexual" thing that BioWare experimented with in Dragon Age 2

I'm glad they abandoned it for Mass Effect 3 and Dragon Age Inquisition and characters have specific sexualities, especially in DAI.

Like, in DAI, Cassandra, Blackwall, Cullen, and Solas are heterosexual. Cullen and Solas are even particular about species, with Cullen not being interested in Qunari or Dwarves, and Solas only interested in having sex with elven ladies.
    Sera and Dorian are homosexual, and Dorian's homosexuality is a plot point that is actually pretty central to his backstory and could not exist if they did the goofy "protagonisexual" thing of DA2.
    Iron Bull and Josephine are bisexual/pansexual (Iron Bull's writer specifically identified him as pansexual). Bull's sexuality, again, is a pretty important part of his character and would get fucky by putting him in a box of only being into whatever the protagonist is.

I don't like the weird "quantum sexuality" concept for NPCs because A.) It reinforces the stupid BioWare fanbase idea of them being the gods of their own narrative and that everything should be their power fantasy where every character is their potential waifu at all times, and B.) It destroys potential storylines like Dorian's and C.) It's actually a form of bisexual erasure in it's own way (see: Anders in DA2).

I disagree.