As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

The TV Thread: More for Less

• Options
    twmjrtwmjr Registered User regular
    Butters wrote: »
    I have no experience with built-in Roku but I definitely prefer my external Roku to android TV.

the built-in Roku on my TCL is my favorite smart TV experience, and it's not even close. I would be extremely disappointed for it to go away in favor of anything else.

• Options
    ButtersButters A glass of some milks Registered User regular
    KiTA wrote: »
    I have no experience with built-in Roku but I definitely prefer my external Roku to android TV.

Yeah, I'm not sold on Android TV. I hear GoogleTV is a bit better... but yeah. As @MichaelLC (and others) have mentioned, apparently Google doesn't have the greatest of track records for supporting these kinds of pet projects, while for Roku it's literally their entire business.

I will admit that it's funny to hear that one innovative feature from Google TV is that it will display random photos and pictures of famous art on your screen while it's not in use. Or, for those of us who used computers before 2010, it has a bog standard screen saver.

I don't think android TV and Google TV do the same thing. Google TV is a content rental service while android TV is a smart TV operating system like Roku.

I also would be a little less concerned with abandonment since its being distributed by other manufacturers. If you look at the Google graveyard it tends to be redundant apps (inbox, hangouts) or half-assed google branded hardware (glass, slate).

PSN: idontworkhere582 | CFN: idontworkhere | Steam: lordbutters | Amazon Wishlist
  • Options
    ShadowfireShadowfire Vermont, in the middle of nowhereRegistered User regular