Options

Sean Bean was impaled in the making of this [CHAT]

• Options
    InquisitorInquisitor Registered User regular
    Pony wrote: »
    Inquisitor wrote: »
    No no step 1 clearly has to be playing zombie airsoft if I want to be a cool kid.

Clearly.

man airsoft is so years ago, bro

we play Nerf now

get you a Maverick

buy some darts

Dude I got me a maverick and the sniper rifle! Oh man I used to wait on the roof of my garage to ambush my friends, I haven't busted them out in years.

I should do that next game night, really take my friends by surprise.

okay so tell me this

i have been told that the longstrike is actually more accurate when you take off the barrel attachment and shorten the gun

since nerf darts aren't bullets, the barrels aren't rifled, so basically it's more shit in the way messing with your shot

i find this DEFINITELY to be the case with the Recon

your thoughts

To be honest I have no idea from personal experience because I've always fired it with the barrel because it looks cooler :P

But, the barrel should not add any accuracy or speed. All the momentum is generated by the spring, so the shot is already going as fast as it will be, it won't be accelerating in the barrel due to expanding gases or anything. As you said the barrel isn't rifled, nor is it set up so there is a snug fit between the dart and the barrel (this would just produce drag and slow down the shot). So, I can't see any added benefit from having a barrel. All it could do is cause the shot to bounce around some inside the barrel and waste momentum. Ideally the dart should never touch the barrel, and the best way to do that would be to have no barrel at all.

I did a ton of barrel research back in the day because the number of myths and the amount of superstition about paintball barrels is simply staggering. It took a lot of research to figure out the science behind it all.

• Options
    PonyPony Registered User regular
    Gooey wrote: »