As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Who wants to make a new game? :D

• slash000slash000 Registered User regular
    edited April 2009
    slash000 wrote: »
    Slash, we could get this file size way down, you know.

Heheh, perhaps. I'm not sure what exactly my options are, given how GF2 works. GF2 likes to incorporate everything into a single file.

Although, it may be capable of loading external files. I'll look into it. But not tonight! :D

I thought you were using Games Factory 1 and that's why you couldn't use OGG or MP3 in the first place.

Well what I mean was I"m using the first release of GF2. They added OGG or MP3 or some kind of support in an update to GF2 (I think, but am unsure). The problem is I started coding in the original retail release. Filesize never even crossed my mind until much later. Then I realized that, potentially, GF2 later updates might support ogg or mp3 or something. So I told my GF2 to update to the latest version, and it did. But one of the 'fixes' messed up my dragon code pretty badly, so I had to revert back to the original retail release of the software.

However, I can look into GF2's features for loading external files, it might be able to load external stuff, I'll have to look into it, but not for at least a few days. :P

slash000 on
  • KhavallKhavall British ColumbiaRegistered User regular
    edited April 2009
    If we get to a point where we can do MP3 stuff or OGG(I'll see about encoding the music that way.. I'd be surprised if I can't...) as optional add-on pack drop me a line and it'll be easy as all hell to update the music to sound less Midi-ish.

Though of course for now, celebration! I'm also done with all gigs for two weeks and then I've been cast as a lead in a show that I didn't actually audition for.

Khavall on