Options

PC Games - Afterparty & Quest for Conquest out today!

• Options
    KarlKarl Registered User regular
    Delduwath wrote: »
    Coinage wrote: »
    Bug testing a game with a million words sounds suicidal
    As a programmer, I am here to tell you that testing anything - even a "Hello, world!" program - is suicidal. So yes, you are absolutely correct.

My brief stint in QA has given me a very low tolerance of bugs in games that go live.

Devs absolutely know they're releasing a faulty product, there's a QA team they have made reproduce that bug multiple times with a step by step guide.

• Options
    Undead ScottsmanUndead Scottsman Registered User regular
  • Options
    WearingglassesWearingglasses Of the friendly neighborhood variety Registered User regular
    I first played Mega Man 2 in the original japanese, Rockman. It was a bootleg Famicom cartridge, but as a little kid my eyes still bulged at the price my parents paid to get me the game. So all I knew from it was the cover of a pudgy blue costumed man without a hand; I didn't even had the time to play it a bit at the game store to decide if I liked it. I was like, "he seems cool!", and they bought it for me.

So when I got home and plugged the cart in, and japanese text appeared to set the scene (which I ignored), so I pressed start to skip all that, to see the blue guy don his helmet and disappear. Followed by a screen of eight faces and a letter W at the center. Who the hell are all these guys then? Now completely lost, I thought I was supposed to find the blue guy with his friends, so I chose one at random (Wood Man!) I was presented with his visage and his signature move (a stomach beating roar?).... and then after the word READY blinked thrice in front of the forest stage the pudgy blue guy appeared. What.