As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

[EAST] PAX East 2013 Cosplay Thread

• Options
    The_MadHatter_The_MadHatter_ Registered User regular
    Yea, that's the same image I've been trying to use for reference. After breaking it all down piece by piece, it's starting to look much more simple to make as long as I can find the base pieces of clothing to modify.

Thanks for the advice with the jacket though, that's the main part that I've been kind of skeptical about. Wasn't sure how to make the patchwork sort of look on a jacket, especially since I have very little experience sewing. How well would fabric paint work? I thought about doing something like that since I don't really have much sewing experience and then just adding stitching to make it give it the patchwork look, but I wasn't sure if it would end up looking crummy.

I was thinking about cheating a bit and using my own hat since I got a Mad Hatter hat as a gift a couple years back (actually the same one as what's recommended in that link), but you've changed my mind. That's definitely a much better fit. Mine is obnoxiously large and a bit flimsy, so glad you found that!

PSN ID, Steam: The_MadHatter_
  • Options
    FidchelFidchel Registered User regular
    Well, fabric paint honestly won't look 100% right. When I was using it to modify our Riddler's jacket, the painted parts came out somewhat leathery. It's definitely the quick and dirty option, but if you don't mind that kind of look, that'd definitely be the way to go.