Options

PAX Prime '10 Costumes

• Options
    arwen_doll16_LOTRarwen_doll16_LOTR Commander Registered User regular
    edited July 2010
    Anyone know of a good pattern I can use to make the dress that the little sisters wear in bioshock? So far I have found patterns that have one feature and not the other and so on. I am trying ot get a pattern as close as possible to the dress so there is as little free done sewing as possible since I am not very good at it yet. Any help or suggestions are appreciated!

Edit: I just looked on another forum I have posted on and I have had the suggestions of using a Dorothy from Wizard of Oz or Minnie Mouse dress costume pattern Thank you Curse-Ten and GalFriday, someone on another site also recommended an Alice in Wonderland costume dress pattern =)

arwen_doll16_LOTR on
    I should go.
    534159_4247466298641_1660805487_n.jpg
  • Options
    AlphonsisAlphonsis Registered User regular
    edited July 2010
    Sorry for typing so much, but can anyone go about telling me how I can make the neck/head piece? I have an idea but a few more suggestions wont hurt!
    To me, it looks like the head piece starts around the base of the neck. My roommate made a pair of fallen angel wings that kind of look like that. Except they went sideways instead of up. This is basically how she did it:

created a harness of sorts that looked like a figure eight which wrapped around from between her shoulder blades to around the front of her shoulders. The vertical pieces were wires (she used coat hangers) that were wrapped in spray painted gauze. I think she used cheap pantyhose for the material. The important thing is to allow the wires to extend below where they connect to the harness, so they can leverage off your back to stay vertical. This prevents the wings from sagging. Given the ones on Dark Ophelia go very vertical, you could incorporate a choker piece to help stabilize them.