Options

Craft Mines, not War! MINECRAFT

• Options
    RikushixRikushix VancouverRegistered User regular
    edited November 2010
    I have an idea for capture the flag. What if you couldn't harm other players...but there were monsters EVERYWHERE. Like a lot of creepers and spiders.

Smart teams would use them to their advantage to protect their flag.

Rikushix on
    StKbT.jpg
  • Options
    mspencermspencer PAX [ENFORCER] Council Bluffs, IARegistered User regular
    edited November 2010
    I'm no expert, but many of these ideas feel way too goal-directed. Players will have different styles and will want to seek victory in many complimentary ways.

Fundamentally CTF feels too limited: you can build defensive structures, you can build offensive structures (water/torch/sand traps, dynamite traps), or you can directly engage enemy players. You can build cooperatively, perhaps with mismatched plans or cross purposes, or perhaps with deliberate griefing of your teammates or to the deliberate benefit of opponents.

I like the brainstorming we're doing -- cataloging all of the low-hanging-fruit ideas and seeing which ones work well together. I'll add my own couple of ideas: suppose we add a sort of spatial logic puzzle element.

Suppose a team can build in opponent lands only where their blocks do not touch any existing opponent-placed blocks. You can build a stepladder over your opponent's wall as long as there's space for you to do so without touching.

Unrelated idea: suppose blocks on the same-team side have to be built . . . pardon the graph theory speak . . . as an acyclic graph (tree) of contiguous regular solids . . . such that if you trace connected block-set to connected block-set you can never form a loop. Blocks can only be destroyed by the opposing team when they connect to other blocks on only one side (like a leaf node.) To destroy a building you have to find the lone "leaf" blocks and destroy those first, and work your way in.